Cats in trouble

Over the past week our cats have been in trouble a few times. Sophia was caught with a baby rabbit in her mouth on Saturday. James went to check on what was happening, and realized the rabbit was still alive. He took it away and Sophia was sent to the house in time out. I do not have a problem with little rabbits in the yard. In fact if they want some lettuce, I am willing to share. Sorry but we always plant more than we need, so go for it. I learned this from one of the men in our church. He lives in the country and always has animals invading. He finally decided to make the garden big enough to accommodate both. I realize we don’t all have that luxury, but when we do, use it. So here are Roger and Sophia in the house pouting about the time out status.

Sophia and Roger in time out.

Sophia and Roger in time out.

Roger, sitting in the scratching box, was hurting for a few days. I think that she twisted herself up in those rafter places that she always sits. Her back legs were really tender, though nothing was deformed or infected. In a couple of days we knew that she was fine when we saw her laying on her back with her feet up in the “come tickle me” pose. She still doesn’t want to be petted on her right leg, but in all other ways she is back to normal. The big thing, though, is we haven’t seen her try to sit in the rafters looking at the birds anymore. I guess a natural cure.

Now for the time Tigee was put in time out. We are not sure what was up, but two days ago she started heading out of the yard. Since she is actually 20 years old, we keep a pretty good watch on her. We never let her go west across the street, but this time she was headed east up the dike. The first time she did it, James followed her and brought her back. He gave her a talking to (as if that helps) and put her down by the steps. No sooner was she on the grass when she took off again. I was in middle of a load of laundry, so I said let her go, I will follow her when I am finished. Lo and behold off she went, across the yard, through the neighbor’s yard, up the dike and heading east down the road to the old railroad bridge. I guess she was running away from home. I took a couple of pictures then picked her up and carried her back to the house. So has only been allowed out with supervision. I wonder what goes through their minds sometimes.

Tigee on the move.

Tigee on the move.

Tigee looking down the road.

Tigee looking down the road.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 04:48:12

    How funny. One cat that we had and adored had a bit of a naughty streak, and on the rare occasion that he did something wrong, looked at you with defiance and self-satisfaction in his eyes, no remorse at all. His brother, however, felt bad if he’d done something wrong. Our current cat, who is at least 10, sometimes has a few litter-box related problems and we have to clean up the carpet near the bathroom. She is incredibly embarrassed by it, and needs reassurance. They are all different!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. donna213
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 20:59:37

    I hope the bunny lived as that would be rather traumatic. Cats are kinda cruel too. It is not like they are hungry. I just lost one of our cats this week. She was 25. The other cat is ecstatic. I never saw him so happy. Cats are cruel. I think he pushed the old one down the stairs too. He looked mighty guilty after that tumble. She only lasted two more weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Glenda Zimmerman
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 19:21:41

    I have a rabbit in my yard, too, and I don’t know how it survives. I do have some alley cats around and I can’t believe they haven’t killed it. I usually see it when I mow and that’s about all. She must have a hole somewhere. I hope Tigee isn’t going some place to check out!?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  4. Tilly Frueh
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 19:19:14

    Isn’t it funny how similar pets and kids are — both need time-outs on occasion.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

