Garden update

I took a bit of a tour again this morning to check on the possibility of putting in the garden today. It should have been in a few weeks ago, but with the frost, snow, more frost, high winds, and now the rain, it has been a difficult year to get anything accomplished. Granted had we not been at track meets on the nice days, we would be near to eating lettuce by now, but priorities! Here is what the plot looks like at this time.

Garden ready to plant.

Garden ready to plant.

James tilled it twice yesterday, but there are a few mud clumps on the other end, so I was really hoping we could get into it one more time when it is a bit drier. Fat chance of that happening. I just dumped another  .5 inches out of the rain gauge from last night. I don’t want the rain to stop, but we really need to stay close to the yard so we can get into the garden when possible so the plants can begin to take advantage of this moisture. The good news is that the potatoes have survived. They sprouted and were frozen black twice, but here they are again.

Potatoes need weeding.

Potatoes need weeding.

I have a feeling with as tight as these plants are we will need to harvest every other plant early to allow the others to grow more. Nothing tastes better than garden fresh, scrubbed-up, boiled in-skins potatoes. We planted Yukon Golds. The Yukon name might be an indication of what they can endure. The Gold in the name is an indication of the buttery flavor; seriously you barely need to add butter to them.

One Pear tree doing well.

One Pear tree doing well.

The last picture for this post is the rose bush that is waiting patiently to be put into the ground. I checked it today, and it is much larger. I will get it outside later this afternoon. I don’t want to dig into the super saturated ground this morning, but I also don’t want the transplant to be at the heat of the day. I am hoping that an evening plant will be easier on the bush. I used to be able to grow roses so well in Jamestown, but not so much here. I guess I should suspect the soil. We will have to see.

Rose bush

Rose bush

  

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucindalines
    May 28, 2015 @ 17:55:20

    Hey I finally planted that rose bush.

    Like

    Reply

  2. atkokosplace
    May 28, 2015 @ 12:46:21

    Your garden is going to be fantastic! I love the plowed land. I would love soil as nice as yours! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

