Memorial Day rain

James left this morning with his sister, Alvina, to the ceremonies in Hull, ND. I believe he is headed to his oldest sister’s place for lunch. They are planning to meet about the big family reunion coming up in June. It will be centered in Hague so they can be close enough to visit original farmsteads and the area cemeteries where the deceased family members are buried. It looks to be an interesting time for the history buffs, but I suspect they have some details to work out. Anyway, Paulina and I were just a bit tired and lazy and we opted for the stay home day.

The rain really has me wanting to stay inside with a good Hallmark or Disney movie. Perhaps I will fire up the projector and watch some of the DVD’s that I have purchased in the past five years that still have the plastic on them. Of course in the olden days when I was in high school, I used to have to go to the local Memorial Day Services and play in the band. It wouldn’t have been so bad if the speakers would have been what they are today. Maybe I was just a teenager with no good taste, but it made it hard to listen when the MC at the mic was mostly inaudible and never changed any of his comments from year to year. Later it was taken over by someone who was a better speaker and the crowds began to grow. But, I wasn’t really headed in that direction. My focus today in this post was supposed to be the rain.

Oh my, time out, three times, I had to (pardon the imagery of this) change pants because of this crawly feeling up my leg. I was wearing Capri’s and on the first time as I rolled back the hem, I found a tick just scooting for darkness. Teach me to wear black at this time of the year. I turned them inside out to check for more, but found nothing. The second time I felt it through the pants but never found it. I finally just gave up and changed clothes. I was beginning to think that I was either losing my mind or developing a nerve disorder. I am sure when tick season ends (with the first hard frost around here) I will be cured.

Here are some of the pictures from today when I stepped outside to view the world. I didn’t leave the shelter of the porch or the concrete, so some of them are at weird angles.

Lilacs in bloom.

Lilacs in bloom.

This lilac tree finally bloomed. I believe it was set back more by the drought than the frosts. I am guessing the rains we are having now will insure better blooms next year. I just have to trim it a bit this year, and remember to do it early before next year’s blooms are set on the tips.

Hosta

Hosta

My original hosta plant. I would so like to move it, but when I moved the other one, it died, and I am not willing to take the chance with this one. Maybe I will just take a part of this at the end of the season.

Columbine and new hosta

Columbine and new hosta

This bed needs lots of cleaning. I am so excited that the baby hosta has come back. It is about the middle of the picture, but hard to see in middle of all those weeds. We really need to figure out a way to corral that hose.

The youngest spirea plant has a few blooms, also needs trimming.

The youngest spirea plant has a few blooms, also needs trimming.

Rain on the checkerboard

Rain on the checkerboard

I checked the rain gauge and it showed just under 1.5 inches. The thermometer showed 59 degrees F.

My frogs

My frogs.

I set all the plants outside yesterday. They were in the garage over the weekend because we weren’t’ sure if it would frost again while we were away. I did lose a few old geraniums this year, but it is probably better to cull some of them anyway.

Roger photo bombs the picture of the spike.

Roger photo bombs the picture of the spike.

I tried to hang those petunias, but I am about 4″ short of reaching my hooks. Where is Paulina when you need her?

Strawberries are blooming.

Strawberries are blooming.

These tires started out in the formation of the Olympic rings, but we never painted them, and we also didn’t figure how to stack them while holding the dirt inside. I guess this will have to do. The original plants were put in the three rings that hold the most. I let them spin away last year, and will again this year. Hopefully we can fill up all those old Neon tires. At least we found a use for them since we can never seem to get them recycled. Anyway with the bed so low, I am hoping to put a netting around them this year to save the berries from the birds. Sorry birdies, you may drink from the ponds, but not eat the berries.

The driveway in soaked.

The driveway in soaked.

Here are some natural bird baths for now. We are trying to get all the pea rock raked up to the edge of the concrete then we plan to fill in the roadway with regular road grade gravel.

Birdee on the fountain.

Birdee on the fountain.

I purchased a new pump, hopefully we get it set up this week to finally have the sound of water splashing away. I so wish that I were brave enough to stock this tank with fish. I just can’t stand the thought of them dying.

Roger is up to no good.

Roger is up to no good.

Here is what Roger is looking at. Paulina made her get out of there and come inside.

Here is what Roger is looking at. Paulina made her get out of there and come inside.

Take care and stay dry. Hope you had a restful Memorial Day.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

