What is that sound?

The picture below sort of shows off my mentality this past week. I nearly went out of my skin as I walked into the closet last night passing the yarn stand and seeing this as I looked down. I small bit of brown yarn has fallen out of its skein and dropped onto the floor. I noticed the tail and was sure there was another mouse. I haven’t really slept since the night of the mouse. That was Tuesday morning in case you didn’t read that lovely post. Oops, I see from a check back that I didn’t write that post. I may as well do it now. Maybe if I share, the haunting will go away.

a mouse of yarn

a mouse of yarn

It was last week on Tuesday morning. We went to bed on Monday night knowing the weather might be ify, but knowing that Paulina needed to return to Bismarck for her finals on Tuesday and Wednesday. I was sleeping off and on in my room alone. I was starting to get over the cold/sore throat, etc.. that hit me all weekend and James went to the other room to make sure I could rest. About 5 a.m. I woke up to this weird tapping sound. I had a weird feeling it was a mouse. As much as I didn’t want to find it, I began looking around.

It seemed to be coming from the furniture that surrounds our bed. I was scared to open the doors or drawers, but I did turn on the light. By this time I started hearing a static sort of sound with the tapping. I thought maybe the light was beginning to short out. The cats were in and they began pacing. Roger stood on my bed on her hind legs, as in straight up trying to see to the top of the shelf above the bed. She would have jumped up to it, but it is so cluttered with photo that she hesitated.

Finally I began videoing the whole business with my phone. The tapping came and went and the static sound did the same. I was trying to get a picture of Roger on her hind legs and yet I was almost afraid the light would blow up. I was actually hoping the light would blow up and then I saw the flash. It was a mouse, and it ran across the shelf trying to escape. I freaked and screamed! I ran down the hall and woke James. He, thankfully, went into the bedroom and found the critter and zapped it out with the fly swatter of all things. The cats didn’t even stick around to watch.

It was after 6 a.m. when the whole ordeal was over. I wasn’t able to go back to bed that day. We had a track and field meet in Eureka and I drove over around 8:30. It was a good day, our discus thrower finally qualified, so that was a relief. He was happy. I was exhausted when we got home, and still not able to sleep in that room. I cleaned the bed and all of the photos off the shelf. They are still in a square basket waiting to have the frames sterilized. I spent most of Tuesday night awake in Paulina’s room. Every sound I heard, I was sure it was another mouse. Sophia came into the room and stalked around like she was looking for something and that did not help.

I am still a bit on edge about more mice being found in the house. The rest of the family is sure that Roger brought the thing in at about 12:30 that very night. I let her in late, and didn’t look real closely if she had anything with her. I didn’t think she looked like she had something and it is usually evident right away. I just keep thinking that creepy mouse must have run across the bed to get to that shelf, and how did it get the cough drop it was trying to open that made the tapping sound and the crackling? I had them on the shelf beside me during that bout with the cold. Yikes!!

Pictures like the one above have not been helping. The only thing that makes me believe the others is that I have not found one trace of mouse poop to indicate that it was in the house for longer than a couple of hours. Hopefully I will start sleeping again soon. Take care and keep the critters outside.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    May 19, 2015 @ 18:53:39

    You do not have any mice in your house!!! Now, put your head on your pillow and go to sleep!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. well@bektel.com
    May 18, 2015 @ 19:57:26

    I feel for you as I am deathly afraid of a tiny mouse and hate to even admit it. They’re just creepy and always take a person by surprise. Love your blog…….E

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

