Snow day

So today is not a day off for anyone, but it is still a snow day. I took a few pictures yesterday, but never did post them. There was a tornado in Delmont, SD. It is a little town of 200 people near Mitchell which is in the south east part of the state. In Europe they would say it is a village. At least that is what I have learned from various exchange students over the years. So here are some pictures of the past two days.

Sophia looking out the window in disappointment.

Sophia looking out the window in disappointment.

Rain puddling in the driveway.

Rain puddling in the driveway.

I took these pictures through the window of my bedroom. It would have been better if I would have gone outside to take them, but I was not going out in that and adding more days to my recovery. Well, I might have done it, but people in my house were not letting me outside. Besides it was pretty cold. Poor trees!

Trees in the rain

Trees in the rain

The pictures above were all taken on Sunday, Mother’s Day. We went to bed knowing that the rain gauge showed over 2″ and that it was wet and windy and cold. We woke to snow. When I sat up in bed, I noticed Sophia on the floor of my bedroom. She moved a bit before I got this snapped. Her head was way down in a pouting position. She wants out so badly, and we wouldn’t let them out last night in the rain. Today, I told her she could go out, so off we went.

Sophia pouting on Monday morning.

Sophia pouting on Monday morning.

Sophia heads out in the snow.

Sophia heads out in the snow.

Another angle of the snowfall on Monday.

Another angle of the snowfall on Monday.

This particular angle is to show you the green coming through the snow. This will be a great fertilizer for the grass. Snowfall at this time of year comes with nitrogen. I am no chemist and don’t know why, but have been told that is what happens with these spring snows. I do know from experience that grass seed planted just before a spring snow will sprout much better than any other planting. It was how we finally got snow in the front yard many years ago.

The raspberry bush through the deck rails.

The raspberry bush through the deck rails.

So as I turned to go inside, I was looking for Sophia. I wondered where she had decided to go first in the snow. Here is where I found her.

Hiding under the table.

Hiding under the table.

By the time I turned around and wondered what happened to her, she was inside the house shaking off her paws. She went straight to the protection of the chair under the table to clean off and warm up. After I got settled with the computer, she came and laid at the edge wagging her tail in frustration. Here are a couple of pictures Paulina and I took.

Sophia

Sophia

More Sophia

More Sophia

Here are other pictures of what the outside in the area looks like this morning.

View from the front porch.

View from the front porch.

I took the following pictures before I went to let Sophia outside. They were also taken through the window upstairs.

Snow on the driveway.

Snow on the driveway.

The snowfilled trees.

The snow filled trees.

Not the yard behind the trees. Perhaps the snow will help the grass seed sprout here.

Not the yard behind the trees. Perhaps the snow will help the grass seed sprout here.

So here is what it looks like at my place, how does it look like where you live?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    May 14, 2015 @ 10:49:17

    Welcome back to South Dakota! It just doesn’t want me to miss out on snow this year! Do you suppose if I came back in June, we would have had snow?? Probably!! Love the pictures! And, don’t get me wrong, the moisture is great! I will not complain!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Heather
    May 11, 2015 @ 13:56:13

    Sorry about your snow day! We had a couple of days in the low 80’s and then we dropped off to the 50’s again with rain. Much-needed rain. Glad it’s not snow, though. Hope yours melts soon 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      May 11, 2015 @ 14:58:37

      Almost gone already. Found out later that a few schools were closed or delayed. Not really that bad. There was a bit of frost damage, but nothing major. I think most plants will be just fine. Here’s to a good spring.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Kat at travelgardeneat
    May 11, 2015 @ 09:30:03

    Blustery wind and rain and lots of gray, gray sky ….. but the moisture was badly needed!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

