Cookies for the workers

Today we have the last of our home track meets in Linton. It is the South Central Conference for the Junior High, and we have all of our high school athletes working in one form or another. Last night at practice, I challenged a few of the girls in their race. No I didn’t race them, but I had them race each other with the winners getting the reward. I am not real happy with the looks of these cookies and I don’t know what they taste like exactly, except that the chocolate chips are not as good as they could be. I think perhaps I did not do a good job of measuring the shortening. I sort of think that I was a little low, or the shortening was a little old. Sounds like something to add to the shopping list.

Dad's chocolate chip cookies

Dad’s chocolate chip cookies

The first batch that I mixed up was Dad’s Chocolate Chip Cookies and comes from my Taste of Home Cookbook. This is a large binder book, and the nice thing about it is being able to pull the recipe out of the binder to place where you are working. The downside is forgetting to put the pages back in place as some hurried cooks might do now and again. The write-up in the cookbook said something about getting care packages from his dad during his days in college. The recipe is as follows:

1/3 cup butter softened, 2/3 cup of shortening, 1 cup of sugar, 1 cup packed brown sugar (yikes I left this out–no wonder) 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 2 cups semi-sweet chips (I mixed chocolate, white chocolate and butterscotch) and 1 cup walnuts (I skipped these). You can see why my cookies are not quite what you would expect of chocolate chip cookies that a college student couldn’t wait to receive.

Directions: Short version mix shortening, eggs, sugar and vanilla. Mix all dry ingredients together then add to the batter. Drop by spoon onto baking sheet.

In the middle of baking these, I felt I would be short in my number of cookies, and as I mentioned in the sermon on Sunday, I can never go with just enough. Goodness gracious we must have so many that we take a pan home. I would have loved the loaves and fishes days, but that is a different story for another time. I dug out another cookbook the Taste of Home 5-Ingredient cookbook and decided to make another batch. I love the convenience of this book because all the recipes are simple and fast. The only issue is that most of them need some pre-processed food. It is also a paperback book and fairly easy to use.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies:

1 package devil’s food cake mix, 2 eggs, 1/3 cup vegetable oil, 1 package peanut butter chips. Mix all ingredients then add the chips. I used the white chocolate chips and a few butterscotch simply because that is what I had on hand. In our house, I am going to need a food safe with only me having the combination to keep the chocolate and other chip eaters out of the cupboard. I had bought a package of peppermint chocolate chips thinking they would taste great in cookies, but never did get to use them. Found the nearly empty bag last night. GRRRR!!! Anyway, these turned out much better. I did put a bit of powdered sugar on a fork as I was smashing down the scooped balls, so that is what the white is.

Heading for the oven.

Heading for the oven.

Finished cookie

Finished cookie

I don’t usually advertise for companies, but Taste of Home can be accessed on the internet if you are interested. It is just http://www.tasteofhome.com

So happy baking to all of you!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 14:41:43

    I need a chocolate fix. Grace could handle making the peanut butter chip cookies. Maybe she’ll do her old ma a favor…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Adrienne Knoepfle Dupper
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 13:34:40

    Ok so the cookie monster said….you make the recipe off the back of the Hershey’s chocolate chip bag for the best chocolate chip cookies and add 1/4 c more flour. Use Crisco for all the shortening/butter and you will make theee best cookies ever! Butter flavored Crisco is the best but plain works too!

    Like

    Reply

  3. atkokosplace
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 13:03:41

    You’ve reminded me, I have some baking to do! 😀

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

