Spring yard update

I have a few pictures that I took last week that show the update of the garden. I can’t imagine how things are actually growing even though it has been pretty cool here.

Lilac trees survived the frost.

Lilac trees survived the frost.

The buds on the lilacs managed to survive the two nights of below 30, without turning black. It is amazing. I have to keep telling myself that it is still April and we don’t get that warm until May, but without the snow on the ground for so long, we are all getting anxious around here to get on with the growing season.

Clematis is coming back again.

Clematis is coming back again.

I should be outside putting up new and stronger string for this plant. I cannot believe that for so many years, I cut this poor thing off each fall and wondered why it never grew up the wall. Good Grief!

Path seems to be taking

Path seems to be taking

We have all been surprised that this path seems to be growing. We need to get a bit of good potting soil into some of the in between areas, besides the fact of filling in the open spaces. In hind sight, we should have spaced out the sod we had and filled in the rest with some ground cover plants for this summer and planted more grass this fall. Oh well, we will see how it works. There are a few iris plants coming up in the path. I guess we didn’t dig them as well as we thought.

Tigee in front of her favorite spot.

Tigee in front of her favorite spot.

This picture reminds me that she is outside under the steps here. I better get her in before I leave for track practice.

The raspberry bush.

The raspberry bush.

Yesterday when I did a garden tour after church, I noticed that the raspberry bush has leaves in bud. I may do a little trimming on it, but I really can’t wait for this to get going again. I have been told they are very invasive. Hope we are willing to deal with them. I just keep thinking of the day when we have enough for some raspberry jam.

Rhubarb doing well

Rhubarb doing well

This poor patch needs some water badly. Perhaps that is what I will do when I get away from the computer.

Last plants in the window.

Last plants in the window.

Oh yes, and get these two plants out of the basement window and into the garage so they are closer to outside and fresh air.

Yellow rose bushes

Yellow rose bushes

Roger's spot

Roger’s spot

These last two pictures are at my mother’s place. The rose bushes will need some cleaning again. These were moved from the back of the house when the porch was torn down. If we would allow it, they would take over the yard, talk about invasive. The lilac tree/bush above used to be two bushes. Currently Roger has a fetish about something living inside it. I have tried to figure out what she is after, but can’t find anything. Well, at least we know where to find her. I am thinking that this bush needs a bit of trimming later this fall.

Not much else to report at this time, hope you are all having a lovely day!! And that you don’t find so many ticks. I am beginning to believe my skin is crawling. Yuck! Ha!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donna213
    Apr 27, 2015 @ 19:39:14

    I can’t wait for the lilacs to bloom. Glad your buds made it through the cold night. We had that weather too.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. atkokosplace
    Apr 27, 2015 @ 17:16:17

    I never knew of ticks until I moved to the south! I found one on my back! Ack! My day is lovely…thank you! I gardened, worked out, and had lunch with my oldest! Lovely day! Happy Monday! Koko

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Apr 27, 2015 @ 17:53:18

      Thanks, and I never knew of ticks until I went to church camp then I came home and found them in the yard that same year. Chickens do wonders to eliminate them. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply

  3. christinelaennec
    Apr 27, 2015 @ 15:08:10

    I am amazed at your lilacs as well – gosh! They seem to do well in the north of Scotland, where we have frosts sometimes into May, so they must be pretty hardy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Apr 27, 2015 @ 17:51:44

      I am hoping they make it this year. I hadn’t thought of them as early, I guess with Easter so early this year, we are just expecting more of our gardens already. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Apr 27, 2015 @ 14:37:37

    I need to turn some major attention to my neglected gardens this spring! I think I am at a dig up and redo status!! I can’t believe how far along your lilacs are!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

