A new Jimmie in the family

Today James and I accompanied Paulina to Jamestown to do a tour and check out the now University of Jamestown. All the rest of us went to Jamestown College, but with the name change, I guess she will be going to the new place. No matter what, she will be a Jimmie like the rest of us.

Paulina beside the parking sign.

Paulina beside the parking sign.

When we went to find a parking spot, we were very surprised to see Paulina’ name on this sign. It is a nice attention to detail. The Admissions Counselor that is in charge of transfer students, Jim, just happens to be a very good friend of our son-in-law, Nate. It was a pretty great day. We started with a tour by Maggie. She took us through the whole campus with highlights on the newer places. James and I hung back while he and I discussed the “older” versions of the places as well as the older uses of the various buildings. It was a hoot. At the end of the day, I noticed the set of early campus pictures that Jim had in his office. He said that he rescued them from the attic area of Tabor Hall. It was fun to look at them. I took a few pictures of my own as we toured around. They are mostly from the old Memorial Gymnasium now know as Hanson Center. I spent many days there in my younger years.

Inside of the old gym. This is where they still play volleyball.

Inside of the old gym. This is where they still play volleyball.


Outside door on the side where Coach Greeno had his office.

Outside door on the side where Coach Greeno had his office.


The track records. So many of them happened when I was on campus, or by people I knew.

The track records. So many of them happened when I was on campus, or by people I knew.

Here are pictures of my brother’s track team. He is the third one from the right in the same row as Coach Greeno and the black and white picture is my uncle Gene’s team. He is the third from the left on the bottom. Neither picture is the best because of the glare of taking a picture of a picture. Anyway, I thought my aunt would enjoy seeing these and sharing them with the rest of the family in Arizona.

Adam's team.

Adam’s team.


Gene's team

Gene’s team


The library

The library


The Chapel

The Chapel


The fountain is no longer even filled or used. So sad.

The fountain is no longer even filled or used. So sad.


James and Paulina walking up the path to the building that houses the cafeteria and the Student Union.

James and Paulina walking up the path to the building that houses the cafeteria and the Student Union.

All in all it was a great day. What a beautiful campus. I am jealous of the fun she will have. I just hope she takes the challenge and joins up something. Jess and Vic were both forced to do some sport for at least a year. This one has gotten by for two years. I could go on about how good it would be for her to get involved, but frankly I just think she needs to do something other than be a student. It is good to be well-rounded. On the other hand, I am not sure if the saying is: “Behind every successful person is a pushy mother” or maybe it should be, “Behind every neurotic person is a pushy mother.” That is all for now. Happy Spring.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 16:09:56

    How funny – “a Jimmie”! There is an old Glasgow phrase, “See you Jimmy”. When Glasgow Caledonian University was just plain old Caledonian University, the joke was “C U Jimmy”. You can buy joke hats that are tartan caps with red hair sticking out from under the edges, and they are called “See you Jimmy” caps. A bit of Glaswegian trivia for you!
    I hope Paulina enjoys herself very much. I agree it’s great to get involved with extra-curricular things.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda Zimmerman
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 00:25:02

    Congratulations to Paulina! Another Jimmie graduate will be very nice! I love the pictures! I know when I show them to the rest of the family tomorrow a.m., they will also really enjoy them. Visiting with the brother from California has been wonderful. We have mentioned many times that your mother should be here as Richard has reminisced about the good old days and she would remember all of them! Wish I could send some of this hot weather home! Luckily, it still cools off at night! Thanks again for the pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

