Spring frost

Sophia deciding what to do first.

Sophia deciding what to do first on this beautiful day.

It is a beautiful day in the neighborhood today, but the temperatures were pretty cold last night. I didn’t check exactly how cold, but there were obvious signs of frost on the grass, which I tried to capture in the picture below, to no avail. Might have to have Paulina teach me about settings to get that right.

The backyard on April 22, 2015

The backyard on April 22, 2015

This morning it was my turn to take the sheets off the trees. I don’t know how much good they are doing and from what I can see, it isn’t helping the tips of the pear trees. It did help the chokecherry trees because they already have their leaves, and that was a big deal not to kill them.

Blankets on the ground to de-frost.

Blankets on the ground to de-frost.

Roger sniffing for the smell of other cats.

Roger sniffing for the smell of other cats.

I should have hung those sheets up, but for now they have been dumped in the driveway to begin the drying process. Roger thought they had an interesting smell, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the old grey “Werewolf” cat didn’t put a bit of his urine on them. I thought there was a bit of an odor. I will dry them, hang them out for a bit, then likely wash them before putting them away for the fall. I am hoping this was the last of the covering until October.

Water drips to the strawberries.

Water drips to the strawberries.

The picture above is the trail of water I left taking it from the tub under the porch to the strawberries in the tires. Something we learned from the frontier days is the alternative way to saving plants from frost is to spray them with water before the sun hits them. The sun is really the killer in the whole frost thing. So, just for precautions, I dumped a pot of water on each tire full of strawberry plants. I am afraid to check the lilacs and plums since we did nothing for them. The plums should be fine as they had not come out of dormancy yet, but the lilacs all had little flower buds on them. Oh well, it wouldn’t be our first year that happened. Below is my excitement for the day as the new iris bed has signs of producing. Yeah!!

Iris plant poking up.

Iris plant poking up.

The sun is out with force today, and the low pressure center has left us for the area of the Great Lakes around Michigan. Hope all my blogging friends are loving the wind with that one. I so love passing on those storms, but then feel sort of guilty for who ends up with them. Today is a semi calm day and after some of the winds we have had, it certainly is a relief. I found the guts to one of my hanging baskets planters in the neighbor’s yard this morning. It blew right off the hook on the porch. Good thing that I hadn’t put anything in it yet. I have been thinking of just getting rid of them. Maybe in June at Victoria’s if we have a rummage sale there. I don’t know if I have enough space in the van to get everything there that I want to ditch.

We have the Mobile Food Pantry in town today and I plan to go and assist. If not for that, I would likely be in church at the office. Plans are to do something on Earth Day in church on Sunday, wish me luck since I really am only about half sure of what I want to do. We have lots of farmers and retired farmers in the group, so I want to be sensitive to them, yet somewhat into a bit of conservation and independence.

If nothing else, the cats are enjoying today. It is one of the first really nice days that I am home for at least part of the morning and they can roam around in the yard and just enjoy the sunshine.

Roger and Tigee heading for the shelter against the house.

Roger and Tigee heading for the shelter against the house.

Tigee just enjoying the sun.

Tigee just enjoying the sun.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:31:22

    Well we’ve been enjoying heavy winds since yesterday here in Michigan, thank you very much. I guess maybe we can expect frost tomorrow then, too? At least the winds are keeping the sun at bay a bit because we have had snow flurries this morning and I don’t really want to think about how the sun would affect the plants that are being hit with snow. Funny thing is we didn’t have any frost, just the flurries. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it warms up tonight and we don’t get any frost because our plum tree is covered with on-the-verge-of-blooming white buds. I’d hate to lose those. The cold should be good for the peas though, if they ever come up.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

