Holy Week in New Hampshire, Ten Months Before the Primary

Re blogging so my readers could learn of this.

Emily C. Heath

Last week, just after Senator Rand Paul announced his candidacy for the Republican Presidential nomination, a new message hit my email box:

The first email. The first email.

I live and pastor in New Hampshire, so political emails and phone calls are not unexpected, even though I am still relatively new to the state. But the wording of this email was curious. For instance, the assumption I “supporting” Senator Paul’s efforts to “bring Constitutional values to Washington” or to “advance the conservative movement”.

I had never signed up on any Rand Paul list, or even any Republican party list. So, I came to a logical conclusion about why I was getting the emails: my college friends who delight in signing one another up for political causes we find objectionable had scored another victory. “Very funny, y’all,” I thought, as I posted a screenshot of the email up on Facebook calling them out.

In…

View original post 644 more words

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Apr 01, 2015 @ 02:56:33

    Here in the UK we have a general election on May 7th. Campaigning officially began two days ago, March 30th. I don’t think the parties are allowed to contact people directly in this way – thank heavens! We do get people coming to the door to talk to us, which I don’t mind. If a person feels so strongly about their candidate that they take the time to go canvassing, I respect that. I take it the dental patient is doing better?

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Apr 01, 2015 @ 07:50:38

      Yes, but I didn’t know just how bad it was. He had a feeding tube and a breathing tube for several days. We are hoping he is released today, but someone will need to be with him for more days.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

