Pink sky at morning

If you haven’t figured it out, this post and my previous post are in reference to the saying: Red Sky at Night, Sailors delight, Red Sky at morning, Sailors take warning. There was a book, and a movie based on that book, but the movie was never released onto DVD and I have never seen it since the showing in the movie theater here in Herreid back in the 1970’s. The storyline is about three teenagers who grow up together during WWII. One of the boys in the group has a father who is a sailor and you can figure out the rest. I never see a red sunrise or sunset when that poem and story doesn’t go around in my head. Crazy how certain things make impressions on us. This is what I saw this morning, and had to run out in my crocks and big winter coat to grab these photos.

My favorite on 3/26/15

My favorite on 3/26/15

Others that I likes are as follows in no real order.

First one taken 3/26/15.

First one taken 3/26/15.

Another 3/26/15

Another 3/26/15

Setting change of the same shot.

Setting change of the same shot.

The long view

The tall view

The view from the top of the dike.

The wide view from the top of the dike.

On the tips of the tree you can see the birds that sang to me as I took these pictures.

On the tips of the tree you can see the birds that sang to me as I took these pictures.

???????????????????????????????

Reflection on the window edges.

Reflection on the window edges.

And now let’s back it all up to where is began, the sunset last night. When I got home, I took a picture to the west off the top balcony. Maybe if you have seen one sunset, you have seen them all. I frankly will never be tired of seeing sunsets or sunrises. It means that we are still around to do what we are supposed to do, and someday, I hope I can figure out what that is.

Sunset from the balcony 3/25/15

Sunset from the balcony 3/25/15

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Mar 27, 2015 @ 04:48:45

    Beautiful photos! Especially the ones of the reflections. I agree with you about the wonder of sunrises and sunsets. I read about an artist who survived cancer and for a year (or more? still?) painted the sunrise every morning. She just didn’t want to miss a thing, and cherished her life so much.

    Like

    Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 17:58:35

    The picture of the elevator is— I hate to use the “over-used” word amazing, but… I think that picture is really amazing!! How can anyone look at these sunrises and sunsets and say there is no God???

    Like

    Reply

  3. donna213
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 17:11:59

    Good you found the movie. I was thinking of the movie, “Pretty in Pink.” Just the title though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. lucindalines
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 12:08:44

    So I lied about the movie. I have been trying for years to find it, and I couldn’t. Today I found it on Classic Movie Reels and have it ordered. Wow. I need to tell the family that I have my birthday gift in the mail, and they just have to bring the popcorn and watch it with me.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

