Seedlings are up!

On day two of Spring, it is very cold and windy outside, so I will keep my focus inside. I checked on the seedlings. Every e flat of tomatoes has seedlings coming up. The Roma flat (seen below) has the most sprouting and that is good. I didn’t plant them last year, and I really feel the soup and the spaghetti sauce suffered flavor without them. Never again will I NOT plant Roma tomatoes.

Roma tomatoes are up.

Roma tomatoes are up.

Tomato seeds are pretty easy to get to germinate. Peppers are a different issue. They want warmth. I had them all in the east window in the small bathroom, and nothing was happening. Well, as I said tomato seeds are easy and some of them were up. They were, however, quite scraggly looking. I finally moved them all to my south window, but I had to do something to keep them off the wood as the oak is being ruined by the water dripping on occasion. I ended up putting them on the top of big plastic tubs to keep the water off the wood. It looks horrible, but I am not going for the house of the year award, I am after seedlings sprouting.

Anyway, it wasn’t until Paulina and I needed to block the light that the peppers got their heat. I hung a dark sheet over the window area to block the light, and wham! The flats were bathed in sunshine and the temperature jumped in the area. Now we have a couple of peppers up to prove their point. I am hoping that the sun keeps shining and warming the area. The temperature has dropped outside, but hopefully the sun through the windows is still warm in the little area.

Two peppers have poked through.

Two peppers have poked through.

Labels on the peppers. The ones that came up are on the far right.

Labels on the peppers. The ones that came up are on the far right.

Large as Roger is, she has to sneak into this area to relax.

Large as Roger is, she has to sneak into this area to relax.

Another batch of tomato seedlings. This saved cake carrier makes a great greenhouse.

Another batch of tomato seedlings. This saved cake carrier makes a great greenhouse.

Here is another idea for anyone not wanting to spend big $$$ on starting their garden. Save those plastic containers that cakes or cheese or meat trays or such come in. You don’t even have to buy them. If you work in a place where people are likely to bring items or order items in there is often one of those plastic containers left to throw away. Rescue it and take it home. They are great green houses for the first couple of weeks. If you really want to be green, find one of those sites that shows you how to make seed starters out of folded newspapers. My husband hates the clutter around the house, and I am getting a bit tired of some of it, but when I am able to save a few cents and make use of something, it is like winning the lottery. OK, so not quite, but I think you understand. One last picture. Here is a plant that has loved its winter home so well, I am not sure it will be happy to head outside. Happy Gardening!!

Asparagus Fern loves the east door area.

Asparagus Fern loves the east door area.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. atkokosplace
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 14:13:59

    I like the kitty! Where can I get seed for him? Hahaha. Tomatoes are the one must have plant I plant yearly. Nothing beats the taste of tomatoes when they are homegrown. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. mountaingmom
    Mar 21, 2015 @ 11:24:21

    On this second day of spring, we finally have sunshine and mild, not warm temperatures. Our seedling flats are on a heat mat under a grow light in front of the south french door. Our first tomatoes popped up yesterday, Yay. I always plant more Roma tomatoes than any other as they make great pasta sauce, chili tomatoes and salsa. We only planted two types of tomatoes, but 6 types of hot peppers. I will buy one or two sweet pepper plants at the Farmers’ Market when they are selling, it isn’t worth buying the package of seed for one or two plants, which always seem to be plenty.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

