Blue slippers finished

Here are the blue slippers that I have been making for me. The green pair I intended for me were waaaaay too large. I fear these might be snug, but that will be better than falling off. If they are too small, I will just give them away and go for a different size. The pattern for these slippers was found on Pintrest, and is very easy to make.

Cast on 30 and knit until the length reaches the ball of your foot. Switch to a 2 stitch rib, this means, knit two, purl two to the end. The second row will be purl two knit two. Experienced knitters know the rib pattern. If you feet are tiny, cast on 28, if larger cast on 32.

Finished slippers

Finished slippers

Books have all sorts of wonderful pictures and instructions about the sewing up of knitted projects. I learned to sew on material where you put right sides together when you stitch. I cannot help but use that method when joining knitted projects. Here is the best step-by-step I can give you.

Knitting done.

Knitting done.

Take it off the knitting needle.

Take it off the knitting needle.

Rather than cast off, I cut about the yard about 8-10 inches beyond the last stitch, and thread it through a fairly large darning needle. I take the stitches off the knitting needle by passing the darning needle through the loops. See below, thread is through all the loops. Next pull it into a very tight circle.

Threaded through all the loops.

Threaded through all the loops.

Just to reinforce it, I put the needle through all the loops a second time then secure it with a couple of stitches to join the ends. I do not knot the thread. Here is where I turn the slipper with the good side in and the inside out. Then I stitch as if sewing a seem. I do this quite close to the edge.

Pulling tight.

Pulling tight.

Sewing up the foot.

Sewing up the foot.

I got caught on the second slipper today. I was in such a hurry to post this that I didn’t check how it was lined up. Believe me when doing this with the same colored thread, you never want to have to back up and take it out. I think I could have knitted a new slipper faster than pulling that thread out.

Knitting pin to hold sides in place.

Knitting pin to hold sides in place.

When I had the thread taken out and went to redo it, I placed a knitting pin into both sides of the slipper to hold them in place. In 30 seconds, I had the slipper sewed up.

Tail for the heel.

Tail for the heel.

To close the back of the slipper at the heel, I use the tail from casting on to stitch it up. Be sure to leave yourself about 5-6 inches of tail. Mine was a bit short on this one, and it was a stretch getting it done. I hate to waste yarn, so that is why I made it so short, but Perhaps better to have a little to give the birds for their nests than to be so short you have to cut an extra pieces. Hope this is a simple enough pattern to follow, and Happy Slipper Knitting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 18:51:19

    Super cute! Add them to the list of things I can’t make πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

  2. atkokosplace
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 15:49:09

    So cute! You did a great job.❀❀❀

    Like

    Reply

  3. christinelaennec
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 15:00:12

    They look great. I’m sure they will stretch to fit – better that they be a bit snug to start out with. Are you going to sew or glue a sole onto them? I would be scared of slipping in them… (I guess they are slippers!)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

