Another day to thaw: or Curiosity could kill the cat

The temperature is again above freezing to the point that lots will be melting. Part of what is melting could be of danger to your pets if you are unaware and not paying attention to where their curiosity takes them. This morning we caught Sophia in a very bad spot. She wasn’t in danger or so she thought. As soon as we called to her she jumped down and came running. Later when we went to look, this is what we found.

Ice in the pool.

Ice in the pool.

Thawed edges

Thawed edges

It might not be a bad idea to drain some of this down, and maybe I will consider that next week. We have taken dead squirrels and feral cats out of there in other years. Sad as any of the was, I sure would hate to have a pet cat find its way under that block of ice, as I am not too sure they could escape as cold as the water must be.

Sophia enjoying the wind in her ears.

Sophia enjoying the wind in her ears.

Pea rock moved up against the driveway cement.

Pea rock moved up against the driveway cement.

James went outside and completed the pea rock moving that is shown above. This all happened this morning after I was upset enough to throw a bit of a fit. We want to go to Wishek tonight to the grand march of their prom. Niece, Elisabeth will be in it. I do not want to have to write a message for tomorrow after we get home. I probably should have done it earlier this week, but seriously it wasn’t like I was sitting around everyday.

I had today planned so that I am not even doing laundry, but in the very beginning we have to hear about how the track roster needs to be completed and sent to Hazen. Of course anytime he wants me to do something, but he really doesn’t want to ask, he tells Paulina to do it. So, here they are on the computer looking up things that really only I know where to find. Interestingly, all of the information from last year is on his computer in school, so it is reinvent the process, or wait until we are there. Then of course by this time I am fuming, but trying like heck not to be the “B” word, I am after all supposed to be putting together my church message today. So, I ask when this roster is due. March 24. Does it seem to you that we have more days to do this? So after I can’t help but put “the look” out there, I become the irrational, irritated always uncooperative woman. At this point, I don’t even care if it is read by the parties involved.

Perhaps this is why I try not to go anywhere very often, yet it seems we are always on the road. It is just so much easier to sit in the chair and do nothing but the very basic things we need to do. It is just easier to be boring. Maybe that is what the cats are trying to tell me. Just sit and pose and don’t worry about the rest of the world.

Roger trying to blend into the pea rock area.

Roger trying to blend into the pea rock area.

Tigee posing on the north side of the shop.

Tigee posing on the north side of the shop.

Perhaps life is better left to chance, but then as it says in the Garth Brooks song, I would have missed the dance. I guess!! By the way, check out the neighborhood and make sure there are no hidden dangers for the pets.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 19:05:42

    That Tigee looks pretty darn good for a twenty year old cat! I need to find out what her secret is!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

