Pi Day or the Ides of March??

I don’t really have much to report today. I was filling in for a math teacher who took his seventh graders to a competition/workshop thing in Bismarck. As it was Friday before March 14, or as math teachers look at it; 3.14 (Pi Day). All assignments had to do with circles and figuring Pi.

I being a former English teacher would be far more interested in March 15, which is Sunday. This was the time of year when I was sure to be in the middle of The Tragedy of (you guessed it) Julius Caesar. It was absolutely my favorite time of school. I always saved Shakespeare for third quarter so that we could do Caesar.

The seniors would read Hamlet or Macbeth depending on which book I had at the time. The sophomores were reading Caesar and the freshman would be on Romeo and Juliet. The juniors were strictly American literature, so we would be reading an American play, maybe The Glass Menagerie or something on that line. It was great. I would have them do a related paper and some hands on project to go along with it. Some drew posters, a few young men made swords out of wood, a few made models with Legos or cardboard boxes, a few took small soldiers and made fight scenes, one girl even sewed a Victorian style dress for a 4-H project and submitted it. It was really great some of the projects that came through that unit. Those are the things I miss about teaching.

On the other hand, there were a few behaviors today that I really, really do not miss. I do not at all miss the young men who are so full of their own importance that no one and nothing can get them to sit down and just complete their assignments. I just keep telling myself that someday they will likely see their value to society in general. For now they will continue to ride the wave of their parents’ money and power. It is all good as long as we all realize their importance in life. At least as a substitute I have the choice to come and go, and for now I will choose to stay at home with my garden and sewing and knitting.

In fact, here are a couple of photos of what I have in the works. And, I promise that is the last of my complaining for a while. I just need to remember which teacher is organized enough to leave something for a substitute to keep the students working and learning.

Blue slippers in progress, this time these are for me.

Blue slippers in progress, this time these are for me.

I am still playing with this square knitting thing. Not sure yet where it is going.

I am still playing with this square knitting thing. Not sure yet where it is going.

Flannel pieces that need to be put together.

Flannel pieces that need to be put together.

This is all for today. I cannot believe that at 8:30 p.m. I am ready to call it a night. See ya tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 08:51:26

    I always left way too much work for my students when I had a substitute, and always took a grade on it. I had some tough classes, and I would’ve hated to know a sub would be miserable.
    In other news: I wish someone could just instill the knowledge of how to knit in my head. I’d love to know, but not enough just yet to actually learn 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda Zimmerman
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 10:45:05

    I take it that the teacher you were subbing for did not leave enough work for her students while having a sub in the room? It is almost impossible to sub in a room like that! Absolutely NO fun! You have my sympathies. I, too, hit the rack at 8:45 last night and I wasn’t even subbing! I think it’s that stupid time change. Enjoy your weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

