Another gardening year begins

It has begun. The time has come to plant the seeds and wait for the sprouts to put in the garden so we may can and eat and eat and can and eat some more from what is in store. And so it has begun again, another year in the garden. I believe that It was probably February of 1980 when I began seriously starting my seedlings. That year, I cut up milk cartons and plastic jugs to get enough space to start some seeds. It was a far cry from the “fancy” equipment that I have now, but much more recycle friendly. At any rate, here are the pictures to go with the story.

And so it begins again.

And so it begins again.

Isn't that what all claw footed tubs are for? I hope this works. There are three sets of tomatoes and one of peppers.

Isn’t that what all claw footed tubs are for? I hope this works.

In this tub with the four flats, there are three sets of tomatoes and one of peppers. I think two of them have 48 spots each and one has 72 and another has 66. Of course I could be mixing them up with the one below. Mostly there are 48 per set, but some have double seeds in them. I also made a smaller one with 24 spots, but those are all double seeded. I don’t know who will all use those plants, but I hope they aren’t wasted. I was going to cut back the garden and this is the most plants I have ever put into trays in my life. I just wish that members of my family, meaning children and siblings would be kind enough to take some of my plants instead of spending money on store bought plants. I would be more than happy to share. Right Jess, “We can share.” That was my daughter, Jessica’s favorite saying when it was her sister’s birthday.

So this was a 9x6=54 spots for peppers. These are in the south window of my bedroom. I put the peppers there because it gets the most sun and will be the warmest, and they are always so hard to get germinated.

So this was a 9×6=54 spots for peppers.

These are in the south window of my bedroom. I put the peppers there because it gets the most sun and will be the warmest, and they are always so hard to get germinated. I actually purged some of the old flats this year as they had cracks and leaked. Time to throw more of them away at the end of the season.

I am trying to force tulips here.

I am trying to force tulips here.

Aloe Vera plant that is reproducing and will find a new home soon.

Aloe Vera plant that is reproducing and will find a new home soon.

The shot above does not give a good indication of the large plant in the pot. They all need to come out, be divided and be given away. Any takers? First request gets it. I have two more larger than this one, and don’t have room. I plan to cut my house plant population in half this summer. It is me or them for next winter.

I took this small plant out of the one above. The others will come out soon.

I took this small plant out of the one above. The others will come out soon.

So, enough for today. How is your garden growing?? I will keep you posted on the seedlings. Any guesses when they will begin to sprout?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 15:53:11

    No gardening plans here for a couple of months. (We don’t start inside seeds.) Yours look lovely. And more importantly remind me that spring will soon arrive!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Mar 13, 2015 @ 16:28:46

      Have heard snow in our forecast for later next week. We shall see. That is the time of the boys state class B basketball tourney. For some odd reason that is usually the weekend we have the worst weather in March.

      Like

      Reply

  2. atkokosplace
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 12:10:14

    I am so happy the garden has finally thawed. No more snow! I can finally get my hands dirty!❀❀❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. glenda zimmerman
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 10:28:09

    So, what is more difficult to do? Mowing the lawn or planting, watering, weeding, picking and washing produce and canning? You really don’t have to answer that. Gardens are way more important than lawns. You have a really good start. I may just have to get some of your tomatoes this year. There is nothing better than fresh garden produce. Keep up the good work. I think God smiles every time someone plants a garden!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. christinelaennec
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 07:02:36

    Wow you have a mini-farm! I will only plant a few things, as I have very little space for growing. I’m not sure when I’ll plant my sweet peas yet. They can’t go in the ground until May so it’s maybe a bit early. This year I’m also going to try planting cosmos indoors to transplant. Fingers crossed!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 07:07:36

      Oh you are brave with the cosmos. I have never had luck or perhaps patience with flowers, though I have transplanted them when they were in the “wrong” place outside. As for space, we have lots and I always think the more garden area we have, the less we have to mow lawn. Ha!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

