Making candle scents/cents

Finished cinnamon candle in a recycled baby food jar.

Finished cinnamon candle in a recycled baby food jar.

The time has come, since I am home all day, and the jars were here from the Ana visit, I started the candle making. I do this on a very small basis because I was too cheap to go out and buy all of the equipment needed to get into it in a big way. I basically have one of those coffee warmers and a glass candle holder.

Wax and crayon in the jar to melt down.

Wax and crayon in the jar to melt down.

Some melting

Some melting, this was the second batch.

Almost ready to pour.

Almost ready to pour.

The jar looks frosty because I had it in the freezer for a bit to harden. I read you should do that, so I gave it a try.

The jar looks frosty because I had it in the freezer for a bit to harden. I read you should do that, so I gave it a try.

I also did a batch of the smelly things that you put on the jar to melt. It is like a flameless candle. These need lots of scent, so I really piled that on. I purchased scents specifically for candles, so that and the wicks are my only real costs. The wicks are a trick and that is why the candle is not exactly the same color. One, I should have a bigger jar to melt more wax at one time. I usually put enough wax in the bottom of the jar so it firms up just a bit then I set the metal clip with the wick into that. It is tricky and takes practice. If you make that too deep, your wick does not go to the bottom of the candle, if it is too shallow the wax melts and the wick moves when you fill the rest of the jar.

Actually when you think about it, the scent things are much easier and less headache. I see these on DIY sites all the time poured into ice-cube trays. I being cheap simply saved the trays of the original scents that came with the unit, and I refilled them. Easy recycling project. The wax on this project was from the drips off our Advent candles this year. Now I have those reused instead of in the garbage.

One other point about doing this. I have been trying to use old crayons for color so that I don’t need to purchase the colors. I am not a fan of too many crayons at one time. I am not sure how others simply melt down crayons. The consistency doesn’t seem quite correct unless you have actual candle wax. Candles need a fat substance to flame. When you deal with a large chunk of wax there is a different consistency to it. You will know what I mean if you get into this. I had several crayons in the second batch that I did, and had to go back to the chunk of wax (children purchased it at a rummage sale, that is how I got into this candle making thing) to finish the candle.

Cubes to put on your wax scent melter.

Cubes to put on your wax scent melter.

One major hint. NEVER leave the unit unattended. Always be in the room or at the least on the same floor as the warmer, and never use it around children. Anytime you are heating wax it is a hazard that is why I am not so excited about ever using it on a kitchen range. Hope this has made sense/scents/cents to someone and that you enjoy your play with wax.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 13:10:43

    Reblogged this on Candle & Soap Shop.

    Like

    Reply

  2. candleandsoapshop
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 23:56:44

    Reblogged this on Candle & Soap Shop.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Tilly Frueh
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 17:02:43

    I have always wanted to try this. It’s on my list of things to do — which although long, I consider to be my bucket list, so it will eventually get tackled — I hope!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Glenda Zimmerman
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 10:33:37

    Oh my gosh, LuCinda! Now you are making candles?!? What’s next? Tanning hides? You have waaaay more energy and ambition than I will ever have!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

