Dakota entertainment and Friday the 13th

Coat from Jessica

Coat from Jessica

This morning as we were leaving the house, James said he was tired of being cold in his classroom and wasn’t interested in wearing a hoodie, so he grabbed the pullover jacket that Jessica bought for us a couple of years ago. I took mine, too, so we could be matching at the basketball games tonight. I haven’t been able to attend any of the sessions yet this year, but I have really appreciated being able to watch them on the internet. OK, so I am sort of a nerd that way.

Attendance shot from last Friday when Jessica led the pledge in the House.

Attendance shot from last Friday when Jessica led the pledge in the House.

The big highlight of the week was watching the debate over an education bill a few days ago. They debated a bill for 90 minutes about whether or not to pull out of a consortium that is working on Common Core testing and other things to do with Common Core. Listening to the debate was really as interesting as watching paint dry on the most part, but it was fun to hear how they were contradicting themselves in some spots. I so enjoyed the man who stood up and feigned stupidity on the entire subject. He was like a real life version of Matlock in a court room when he was getting the real killer to admit guilt. Let’s just say, I cannot wait to get home from the games and tune in to another version of the legislature in action even if I am getting the recorded version. I might even throw it onto the big screen. Hopefully I don’t fall asleep as I did on Tuesday trying to listen to the basketball game on the radio. What a life.

At this point in time, they have deposed of (as in killed) bills to get rid of Common Core and to offer 0% interest to college students’ loans from the bank of North Dakota. They have passed a bill that says all high school students must pass a civics test before being allowed to graduate. I have not looked into that too well, and who really can say that our students shouldn’t learn and know more. My only real comment regarding that bill is in terms of some of the debates I have been hearing. I would like all the people sitting in those seats to have to pass those tests after getting elected and before taking office. Hmmm! I am guessing most would pass without a problem, but there might be a few, who don’t make the grade. Oh yea they did kill the bill that would allow school boards to drop to only three members if the district thought that was a good idea. The big argument against that was violating open meeting rules. With the current 5 member boards, it is a sticky issue of three are at downtown coffee at the same time and someone brings up something, now imagine if the board is only three people, it might stop someone from talking to themselves. Ha!!

Anyway, hope you are having a fun Friday the 13th. This morning when I heard it was Friday the 13th, I remembered the first time I even heard of that as a superstition, I was in the 7th grade and had won a spot on the cheerleading squad. Oh if I had known then what I know now, I probably wouldn’t have been silly enough to try out for such a thing. Of course that was pre-title IV, and girls’ sports. Well, enough!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 16:51:50

    Waiting for your February 14th post but still nothing. Must be too busy. Anyway, just wanted to wish everyone a HappyValentine’s Day! Even got a box of chocolates from my brother! Hugs to everyone!

    Like

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 13:41:52

    How cool that you are so fascinated by your local politics. These things do have a real impact in people’s lives, although many people would like to believe otherwise. My husband’s birthday is on the 13th, so anytime there is a Friday the 13th he considers it a lucky day, whether it’s his birthday month or not!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Feb 14, 2015 @ 13:58:12

      That is a fun fact about your husband. We had our first date on a 13, Friday no less. This year the calendar matches up in November, and I am hoping we do something special.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

