Mending

Today as I began the Saturday ritual of doing the laundry, Paulina pulled out a pair of dress pants from Jessica, and said she needed a hem fixed. I have done this for her before, and do not mind doing it. I can and gladly do simple mending projects. A hem that falls is quite easy, unlike trying to resize pants, which I need done for me. It was only part of the hem and it took me longer to thread the needle than to a do the stitches. I don’t see so well anymore on those small things, and since I had been too lazy to walk upstairs for the good scissors, the thread was a bit frazzled and didn’t want to thread as well.

Fixing a hem.

Fixing a hem.

Anyway, doing the pants made me wish that I would just take the time to work on some of the other items that I have stacked up and waiting to be done. Let’s see there is the owl blanket that is pinned, but really should be re-stretched and pinned again to make sure it lays right. Then I have the pj’s for Jaxon. I could do at least two pair with the material I have. Also there is fleece and flannel for a pj type bag for Ana. I had thought about making a flannel blanket for a baby born before Christmas, and what about that blanket I was going to do for the lady, who I am substituting for? Oh ya, if I had all the money  that I used to purchase material or craft items in the bank on today’s interest (virtually 0%), well, let’s just say, James and I would probably be taking a trip somewhere instead of filling in for those who are gone.

On the other hand, I guess I am doing what I prefer, which is spending time on the blog (which includes taking some pictures to share), finishing the laundry and completing the message for tomorrow. Perhaps if I get that message finished in time, I can go upstairs and sew up something. Of course it might just be easier to knit while I am watching television. I have a few soaps that haven’t been watched, not to mention about 30 episodes of Jeopardy.

Well now that I mentioned the knitting, I don’t feel quite so bad. I have been getting some things accomplished there. None are quite done as of yet, but they are closer and closer. I will have to share some pictures when completed. And there are always the cat shots and the ones of the garden. I know it is only February, but it just might be time to start thinking of some seedlings.

Roger checking the smells by the shop.

Roger checking the smells by the shop.

Tigee coming back into the house after some time in the sunshine.

Tigee coming back into the house after some time in the sunshine.

The snow is rapidly melting.

The snow is rapidly melting.

The newest bulb garden, hope this warmth doesn't start any growth yet.

The newest bulb garden, hope this warmth doesn’t start any growth yet.

The shadow gives you an idea of the sunshine today.

The shadow gives you an idea of the sunshine today.

 

The garden is nearly bare.

The garden is nearly bare.

Roger in the house resting in her favorite box.

Roger in the house resting in her favorite box.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donna213
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 16:59:20

    Oh my nemesis chore, hemming pants. I often want to take them to be done, but something always stops me and I grit my teeth and tackle the chore. I can thread the needle so far, only my distance sight is bad. You have melting snow??? When I got back, I was greeted with four feet and it is still snowing. When I was flying home, I saw so much snowy landscape below. I may have flown over your neck of the woods too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Feb 07, 2015 @ 17:44:48

      It started melting yesterday, and tonight as I am checking your message the ground is bare in the spots with no shade. Almost too warm for the time of year. I don’t mind the snow, just the cold. Hope you stay warm remembering your trips!!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Glenda Zimmerman
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 16:57:27

    60 degrees today! Does it get any better than this on the seventh of February in the Dakotas? Lovin this weather and all the snow melting. Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

