In progress….

Today I have several things in progress including getting a cold. I am hoping to head that off at the pass, but am not too sure how that will work. Last night I was so cold at the wrestling match. Mostly it was my own fault for allowing myself to get chilled when I walked out of school. It has been so warm that I left my big coat in the van when I walked into school in the morning. By the time school was over, the temperature had dropped a little, and it felt colder than it was because of all the moisture in the air. To me the wet cold is colder, but …

I wanted to write about works in progress and somehow I ended up distracted. Here is the thing. Work in progress is doing the substitute thing. I want to share a couple of pictures of the room that I am working in. I really enjoy being in this school in Hazelton. It is a fairly new building and just a neat facility. The resource room was originally designed to be the family and consumer science room, but they don’t have that subject here, so because of where it is located (between the elementary and high school) it is used as the resource room (special education) for the entire school. It is also great that it has the sink and such, as they can use it for life skill sorts of classes if there is a student who needs those things.

The life skills corner. Handy for keeping a coffee thermos.

The life skills corner. Handy for keeping a coffee thermos.

Teacher desk where I do some work.

Teacher desk where I do some work.

The door to the room is just left of that blue tub on the floor beside the desk. The desk faces north and the windows overlook the elementary playground.

The other main work in progress that I have is the orange scarf that is scheduled to go to Kenley. I hope I spelled her name correctly. I took out the meter stick today just to see how long I have gotten it. I worked on it last night during the wrestling match. It might have been hilarious to watch. I have gotten good enough at the stitch to be able to do it in dim light, which is what the gym is like during a match. They turn off the regular lights and put a spot light on the mat for the wrestlers. Anyway, all I could think of was A Tale of Two Cities and Madame DeFarge. There I was knitting away the results of the match. Ha! I did sort of knit in time to the suspense of the match. When it got really intense, I set it down, but I was going fast and furiously during a couple of the bouts.

Walking rib--orange scarf.

Walking rib–orange scarf.

This pattern is a walking rib with a knit trim. Here is the pattern for anyone interested. Notice that I have put a counter on the needle. I finally realized you could do that and I just love it.

I will give you this for the advanced and for the beginners afterwards. It was so easy once I figured out the pattern. An experienced knitter knows that a rib works in groups either of 2 or 3 or so stitches. This is a rib in two, so it is basically every 2 stitches that work together except in those transition rows.

Cast on 22: For the trim part I begin and end every row by knitting 3. For the rib it goes in sets of 8 rows with this pattern: Row 1 and 2: knit 2, purl 2 across; Row 3: knit 1, (purl 2, knit 2) until you end with knit 1; Row 4: purl 1, (knit 2, purl 2) across until you end with purl 1; Rows 5 and 6: purl 2, knit 2 across; Row 7: purl 1, (knit 2 purl 2) until you end with purl 1; Row 8: Knit 1, (purl 2, knit2) until you end with knit 1. At the end of row 8 repeat the entire process.

Just remember that the first three stitches and the last three stitches of each row are knit, this gives you a trim around the scarf.

For a beginner the first rows would look like this:  Cast on 22: Rows 1-2: Knit 3, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 3.

Row 3: knit 3, knit 1, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 1, knit 3.

Row 4: Knit 3, purl 1, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 2, knit 2, purl 1, knit 3.

Row 5-6: Knit 3: purl 2, knit 2…until end of knit 3.

Row 7: same as 4

Row 8: same as 3

I can remember the pattern because the knits all go together and the purls all go together. It is just a matter of remembering what the fourth and fifth stitches are and following the pattern. I love how the slant works in the pattern. You will know that you are off when the slant switches directions, yikes. I have had to take apart a couple of times and try to figure out where I am, but it has been fun, and has made me improve my skills without driving myself too crazy. Hope this helps someone else work on their knitting skills. Until latter, happy work in progress!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 07:29:48

    She will love the scarf and will be able to get lot of use out of it this year as the temps are supposed to get considerably colder this week! If your cold ends up like mine, you are not going to be happy. I do think that a trip to the clinic is in my future for Monday. Nice job on the scarf!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

