MLK Day, or the weekend our mother died

I know that today is not the date that my mother died, but I will always know the rest of the world or so I thought had the day off, and it was at an In-service to learn something that now doesn’t matter. Paulina called me, twice. I went back to my room, and tried to organize life or lesson plans. I couldn’t think. I couldn’t breath. And then it hit me, she was gone. She was gone and I didn’t take the time to sit in the rocker while she was on her oxygen and just talk, and listen and laugh with her. Promise you will laugh with your mother more.
I am feeling this because it is this weekend. I am feeling this because I did not take the day off and just sit in her house, though I did go there just to be there.
I am also feeling this way because I attended the wake of one of my mother’s friends. And on Wednesday I will go to the funeral of a neighbor, another of her friends.
When I heard of their passings all I could think of was that they were setting more places at the great banquet in heaven, and that there were two more seats being filled during the coffee time.
Rest in peace Donna and Rita, I hope you have been reunited with you family and friends. Please say hi to my mother, I sure do miss her today. Love you mom.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Jan 21, 2015 @ 18:16:19

    I miss her every single day! And you DID sit with her many times. That’s why it hurts so much to not have her here any more.

    Like

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 05:11:07

    So many regrets stay with those left behind. Turn those regrets into a lesson for the future. My mother died on Jan 24th, and my first husband, of nearly 30 years, on Jan 14th. Hard month as the memories flood. My journey in life has been over bumpy roads too; and the lessons I’ve learned turned me into a better person. I try to not miss out on the time I can spend with friends and family. You mean so much more to them than the “job title”.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

