Oh so cold

It has been very cold here the past few days. Today was the worst. I went to church and worked in the office, even stopped for a visit at the hospital and at the nursing home, but did not hold Bible Study. There was no way I was having the ladies in their 70’s and 80’s come out for a meeting that could easily be postponed. I told one that we are making a new rule: “Anytime the school is delayed or called off, we are not having Bible study that day.” If it is too cold for the children, it is too cold for us.

I did a bit of work on the statistics page for the annual meeting report. We averaged 32 in worship each Sunday. That is the same as last year, and based on all months rather than the 10 best. I did throw out the high (105 at Schmeckfest-a local German-Russian celebration) and the low (22 the end of November). We also had 25 at the special services and on and on and on just statistical information. This morning before I hopped in the van to go to the office I totaled up the miles put on in 2014. It was 7,994. I had no idea it was that many, but I suppose.

Below are some pictures of the past few days. I love pictures of snow. I should go take more so that I would have something to paint. I really wish that I would just take the time to dig out the brushes again. Well at least I got myself to work on some of the knitting.

The sun on the way down in the west as I was driving home tonight.

The sun on the way down in the west as I was driving home tonight.

Scene away from the sun.

Scene away from the sun.

 

Snow storm through the window two days ago.

Snow storm through the window two days ago.

Snow on the shop two nights ago.

Snow on the shop two nights ago.

Plants in bloom.

Plants in bloom.

Tigee pouting about needing food. She is getting to the point that she forgets she has just eaten.

Tigee pouting about needing food. She is getting to the point that she forgets she has just eaten.

Of course by the end of tomorrow, I will probably have four projects finished. Reason: I am starting the long-term sub thing tomorrow. Well, I go in to shadow here tomorrow. I could end up having Monday and Tuesday off yet next week, not all certain of what will happen when it involves a baby being born. Anywhoos, the point I was trying to make is this: “If you want something done, ask a busy person.” This is always really true in my case. The more I have to do, the more I get done.

I will also be more likely to get thing accomplished while we are in the car going from hither to yon. Those are always productive minutes for me. If we only had mass transportation around here, I would probably get every book in my library read. It is just too hard to turn the pages while driving, so that is why I can’t read and drive. I hope you know I am kidding. I panic if I have to take my eyes off the road for even a radio issue. But that is all a different story. Hope you are all staying warm.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 19:08:32

    It is cold here too. They are saying that tonight and tomorrow the wind chills are going to be somewhere between 20 and 30 below! Not fun. I’m hoping Zeb’s school cancels for tomorrow, even though the bus picks him up right outside our door. I don’t plan on going out unless something unforeseen happens. Keep warm ~ Tilly.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

