Putting away…but not all

Today we took down the Christmas tree, the wreaths and most of the items with a true Christmas theme. I left up the Nativity scenes as we haven’t celebrated Epiphany yet. I have also left up the Angels, Father Christmas/Santa display and the snowmen. I realize in looking back that I never did take a picture of the Snowmen. How sad that is. I must do that right now to share.

The Snowmen in the TV stand

The Snowmen in the TV stand

Lights on the three LED pieces

Lights on the three LED pieces

The newest Joy Snowman I received from Susan at church

The newest Joy Snowman I received from Susan at church

There are a few other things that never made the blog in December when we were decorating. Perhaps I should have gotten out of my funk sooner. Good grief grow up and get to it is what I needed to hear. Our Great Aunt Mandy would have said, Nem dich stumma.” It was a German-Russian saying which means, pull yourself together. Wow, I could use one of her speeches again. So here is the “H” block that we got from Jess and Tony. I put a blinker into the set of lights that goes with it, so I took several shots before I got one dark and one lit.

"H" in place of the tree. I will need to dig out a few other items to put with it for some sort of winter display.

“H” in place of the tree. I will need to dig out a few other items to put with it for some sort of winter display.

Lights are on.

Lights are on.

Also setting around are a few other winter items.

The stuffed snowman and the igloo from many long years ago.

The stuffed snowman and the igloo from many long years ago.

Peace on Earth and the gourd snowman that Paulina is supposed to be using as a pattern to make her gazillion gourds in the box in the carshed.

Peace on Earth and the gourd snowman that Paulina is supposed to be using as a pattern to make her gazillion gourds in the box in the carshed.

Oh then upstairs I found the Snow globes on the bookshelf. One of my resolutions, well not really a resolution, just a goal for 2015 is to read the books in that bookshelf. I keep putting them in there in alphabetical order, but never taking any out to read. I have the whole thing filled  plus a good start on a large box. I guess it is time to put down the iPad with the games and begin reading again. Why was it so much easier to read in Linton? Perhaps because there was no TV in the bedroom, and I had to read myself to sleep. Yikes!

Snow globes and top row of bookshelf.

Snow globes and top row of bookshelf.

It was also easier to read and do knitting and such in Linton because I was basically jobless. Sitting at home gives you lots of time to do those sort of things. Now I just squeeze those items in between required items. Here is what I have been working on in the past couple of days.

The item on the left is the headband for Alyse and the item on the right is the scarf for Kenlee.

The item on the left is the headband for Alyse and the item on the right is the scarf for Kenlee.

Of course time spent on puzzle making also takes away from reading and even from knitting and crocheting. Paulina and I spent New Year’s Eve putting together the 200 piece that I got from Victoria. We still have not finished the windmill puzzle, but Sophia seems to think it is ok for her to sit on it and move things around, and I don’t know if we will ever get that one completed.

Sophia sleeping on the puzzel

Sophia sleeping on the puzzle

Sophia on the puzzle again!

Sophia on the puzzle again!

Disney Villain puzzle from Victoria

Disney Villain puzzle from Victoria

Well, not much else to mention for now. Hope you are all having a great Friday before the year begins in earnest. I am looking forward to this weekend and two more days off before life begins to get really crazy. With another year beginning at the church (annual reports due, Mission Fest, Annual meeting, Lent just around the corner) and a long-term sub position for the off days, life in this household could get very wild. Again, Happy New Year to you all!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

