Blessings 2014-2015

Today I decided it is time to take a bit of a look at some of the blessings in my life. It sort of started when James went downtown to pick up the mail and checked at the bank for the year-end statements. When we opened the envelope that showed the savings accounts, we were amazed. Last year at this time (ok so about October of 2013) the balance was headed south and very close to being printed with red ink. It was just about that time that I was asked to take on the Eureka church in part-time ministry.

What a difference that decision has made for us, and I am not so sure it was just the monthly amount of payment I receive. I think it is the whole mindset that has made the difference. We have also had a good year in the family business and a few other things have fallen into place. It didn’t hurt that we watch how we spend far more carefully and that we had a giant garden last summer. In fact, I was just in the basement this morning and realized we need to be more intentional about how we are consuming that bounty, or we won’t be planting anything this next year.

Though there have been bumps in the road, and so “issues” about things these past two months that make me not want to share anything at all of the blog, there have also been so many other blessings in our family.

Family at Christmas

Family at Christmas

One of the greatest gifts is that healthy and happy little granddaughter who lives in Dickinson. Another blessing is getting to know those other two little girls who live back and forth between Mandan and Jamestown. And of course Jaxon just continues to amaze us as he grows and learns and steals our hearts every single time we see him. I so hope he is allowed to spend a week or at least a few days with us this summer, just him and us working in the garden, riding lawn mower and playing outside. Hint, Hint!!

And when I think of blessings, I cannot express enough how getting to know the people of St. Paul’s in Eureka has made life a delight.

The first Christmas card received from a member this year.

The first Christmas card received from a member this year.

As I was digging though my planning folder this morning I found a quote: “Doing what you like is Freedom, Liking what you do is Happiness.” I think that in 2014 I was super blessed because I was able to have both parts of that statement. Setting puzzle for New Year’s Eve is a big part of that statement, too!

The puzzle for New Year's Eve

The puzzle for New Year’s Eve 2014

I started this blog in 2012 in response to the fact that I was no longer writing a column for a local newspaper. That column was known as Lines from LuCinda. I started that in October of 1999 when I began working as the editor(which meant writer not editor). After I left to go back to teaching and earning a better income in 2007, I continued the column until we moved to Linton in 2010. It was sort of suggested that when living out of the area, I should not be writing for the local paper. Oh well close a door/open a different door. I know the actual saying is about close a door, open a window, but I like my version better.

I have always wanted to put those articles together into a book, perhaps the ones about remodeling this old house we live in would make a book, and I have pictures to go with that, but I am not so sure the real story can be told until some of the people involved are no longer around. Things were not what they seemed as I was writing it, but that is another story not for today.

Today as I reflect, I know that I/we have lots of blessings in our life including family, health, cats

Roger what a thing she is. Always wants to be in a bag or a box.

Roger what a thing she is. Always wants to be in a bag or a box.

Tigee is much happier since she went to the vet and had her nails trimmed up.

Tigee is much happier since she went to the vet and had her nails trimmed up.

Sophia was caught sleeping on a chair when I tried to sit down to eat.

Sophia was caught sleeping on a chair when I tried to sit down to eat.

and of course plenty of stuff. Speaking of stuff we need to put things away later this week, and I am not so sure some of it is going away. I may just keep some of it out for enjoyment. It seems so pointless to have things if you are just going to store it away. Especially things like Snoopy and Woodstock.

When you push the little button the piano plays, Snoopy moves and the lights blink. Just love it!!

When you push the little button the piano plays, Snoopy moves and the lights blink. Just love it!!

Well, I was thinking of doing the whole resolution thing, but I will save that for my personal journal. I will leave you with a few pictures of the Nativity scenes, and wishes that you all have a Wonderful Happy New Year in 2015!!

All gathered around the baby.

All gathered around the baby.

Left view

Left view

right view

right view

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janette
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 23:59:43

    Wishing you a wonderful 2015 Lucinda, god bless and all the very best! Janette xx

    Like

    Reply

  2. lucindalines
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 13:57:33

    I cannot believe that I didn’t add all of my blogging friends both those I follow and those who follow me. I have so benefitted from reading and knowing of your worlds this year and in the past. I also have appreciated those who have left comments for me as I blog through the daily grind and leave my messages for the world to read. May God Bless all of you in 2015. Happy New Year!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

