Winter vacation bumming

Today is one of those lazy Christmas vacation days. I went to the church office yesterday and did the bulletin and January newsletter so nothing to do there except the Sunday message and lots of thank you cards. I received so many wonderful gifts. I did accomplish a bit today. I made a pot of knepfla soup for Paulina. We are all eating of it, but she has been asking for it since the surgery. I didn’t add carrots, but it is ok. Her throat hurt pretty badly when she woke this morning. I suspect she isn’t drinking enough. She does feel dehydrated a bit.
Anyway as long as I was digging in the kitchen and had the flour out I decided to bake an apple pie. No use canning all that filling if you don’t use it right. I did a little taste and there isn’t enough sugar in the filling so hopefully I added enough to the pie.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1075.jpg
The day is bright and clear outside, but the temperature is sub zero in Fahrenheit, so you know it is cold. Running the stove and oven take some electricity, but helps us keep the furnace a fish lower.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1074.jpg
Yesterday, Roger decided the sunshine was just right for relaxing in the south window in my bedroom. Here are the pictures Paulina got of her.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1070.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1072.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1071.jpg
Well with the pie cooling and my tummy filled with soup, I guess it is time to sit down to work on the final pieces of the puzzle. Sure wish I had some help!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/406/26957281/files/2014/12/img_1073.jpg

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 17:01:26

    I should be helping with that puzzle! But it is toooooo cold to leave the house! Drink hot tea, Paulina!

    Like

    Reply

  2. mountaingmom
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 16:06:46

    I hope Paulina’s throat feels better, she really does need to hydrate. Wishing you a happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 14:56:07

    Cat bliss ~ a sunny window spot! Happy New Year, Lucinda!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

