Post Christmas Healing days

It is the Saturday after Christmas and we are all still just hanging about the house monitoring Paulina’s recovery. If I haven’t said it before, she had her tonsils removed on Tuesday before Christmas. She was far more confident than I was, and did fairly well with it. I have been the proverbial mother-hen, not in hovering over her. She claims that I have done nothing for her and that she must get her own food and all, and perhaps that is partially true, but I have been trying to keep her home and sheltered so there are no germs introduced into a somewhat vulnerable body. Anyway, she is doing really well. We will be heading to Mobridge later this afternoon to watch my niece, Elisabeth play basketball. She was here last night and had supper with us. She and Paulina exchanged Christmas gifts, and she stayed to help us with a puzzle for a bit. I don’t think the border would be connected yet if she had not been here.

This morning we woke to frost on the trees. It wasn’t major, but just a smidgen of white crystals, and it looked pretty.

Frost on the willow tree

Frost on the willow tree

Little lilac.

Little lilac.

There is snow that fell around Christmas, but thankfully the roads are now pretty good. Paulina and I have to drive alone today as James already went to Mobridge with Adrienne and Glenda so he could see more games. I suspect it was so we had to pay our own way into the game, but that is a different joke.

There is church again in the morning, and I should perhaps finish the message. I should have taken tomorrow as my final vacation day of the year, but that didn’t happen. I know it is a use or lose item, but I am sure that we can discus it if something serious should come up. I was going to use it at Thanksgiving, but didn’t feel the need to at the time. Oh well, one of those control things. I just don’t feel like being gone during Christmas because of the nature of the messages.

But…on to other things. Here are some of the items I received for Christmas this year. A cup from Paulina.

Says something about World's Best Grandmother.

Says something about World’s Best Grandmother.

The other side of the mug.

The other side of the mug.

I didn’t get pictures of the other things except the yarn from Tony’s girls. I bet that means it is time to keep knitting. I have found some amazing new patterns on Pintrest and can’t wait to try them.

New Yarn!

New Yarn!

I also am anxious to get to some old and new sewing patterns in the New Year.

Patterns to work on.

Patterns to work on.

I guess I already have some plans for work to do. I believe that I won’t be making resolutions this year, just lists of items to put into progress and then complete. I hope you had a great Christmas, and a Happy New Year.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

