Advent Day 14: catching up

I haven’t been posting this past week. It was hard to feel like sharing much about happiness and good will to all when I wasn’t feeling anything of it. There were lots of reasons, but I will put some of it out to the events of today. Today James, Paulina and I went to Mobridge, SD to attend a funeral. It seems to be a weekly event around here though this one was not a person who was at the end and ready to go. Though maybe we are wrong on that comment.
Ben was barely 24, a young man with a bright future. He was: engaged, ready to graduate college, possibly heading to seminary, a National Guard member, had done a tour in Afghanistan, musician, actor, athlete, and he took his own life. No one can explain it. His father was adamant that it was not related to his time in the service, there were no other reasonable explanations.
The words Mental Illness were used. The phrase, “dark places” was used. I can relate to those terms. In the books by Laurene Snelling, one of the main characters talks about slipping into, “the pit.” I have read that term often in the Old Testament. It is a real place in God’s language. It is a place we need to work hard to keep ourselves and our loved ones from entering.
Today I ask everyone to not just listen and think you are helping someone in need. No, send them to professional help that can do more than just say things like, “it will be fine.”
I can’t do that counseling. Ironically not long ago someone came to me for some help. I knew I was over my head. I called Rev. Kraft for a referral. He is the father of Ben who was laid to rest today. If only he had known and could have sent him.
May God be with you all today, and may God bless you and keep you and give you His Peace and Hope and Joy. Tomorrow we light the candle of joy. I wish for all of you Christ’s joy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Dec 13, 2014 @ 19:17:33

    I am sorry for your loss. I cannot imagine what his family is going through and hope we never have to find out.

    I do have to comment on your point about seeking “professional” help. If these professionals you are referring to include paid therapists/doctors, I disagree for many reasons. The main one being that this type of so called “professional” help is what nearly killed my father some four years ago and has left him a shell of the man he used to be. These professionals fried his brain with drugs and then when things started getting even worse than what we thought was the very bottom, they gave him new, different drugs. This cycle continued until he was institutionalized and barely alive.

    Eventually he recovered but is not the same and will never be. These professionals you speak of are not altruistic self-sacraficing individuals. They are driven by one thing — money. They don’t care about their patients, as I witnessed first hand as these professionals washed their hands of my father when the truth came out.

    I’m sure there are good doctors out there, but in my experience there have been none. Finding a caring soul, one that is truly there to help for no other reason than they want to is not easy, but my belief is they are the only ones that will truly make a difference.

    My heart goes out to your family and those suffering this loss.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

