Parenting Teenagers: Pressure, Depression, and Suicide

I couldn’t have said these words nearly this well. I think this is an important post to read during the Christmas Season when so many of us struggle with some of our darkest days. May God be with you all.

Seasweetie's Pages

The mantra of my tribe is that Depression Lies. You may recall a post a few weeks ago about a young woman who committed suicide, a friend of my daughter. I have thought of her often, and of the culture in which our teenagers grow to adulthood (as if any of us every REALLY become adults – I still maintain that we’re all just playing at being grown-ups, and some of us are just better at it than others.) I would never blame a parent for a child’s suicide. I have nothing but the utmost, heartfelt compassion for what they must feel. Since I have personally contemplated suicide and self-harming behaviors since I was young, I feel I want to share my perspective on it now as the parent of a teenager.

It’s very difficult to judge your own capabilities as the parent of a teenager. You think you are…

View original post 849 more words

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

