Advent Day 2

I have no pictures today. I would have had some decorating pictures, and it had this long list of to do’s, but it didn’t work out. I received a call from the son of an 89- year-old parishioner. She is in the hospital having a tough time, and it happened so quickly.
I was going to say I had things to do, but it hit me today where the priorities are. I got ready and took off. Wally was quite happy that I got there as quickly as I did. He was alone with her and I just read a few chapters of Psalms.
As much as everyone like Psalm 23, I like Psalm 121, and that is where I had to start. I am doing this from memory as my Bible is downstairs. “I lift up my eyes from whence cometh my help? My help comes from The Lord.”
Today was another of those days when I had such an awesome experience by observing the actions of this son caring for his mother. So much love in that room, it was amazing. I also could see family dynamics going on. It is difficult to express now, but it will be something to process. I also have a different perspective of illness and aged struggles. We did not have that time with either of our parents. I see the good and the struggle of it. Blessings to those who endure! God be with all who are struggling with older parents, may you have the comfort and support you need.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 18:39:50

    That was my Ma’s favorite Psalm. They read it at her funeral. I am sure it got her through many trials. I, too, recite it quite often.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

