Thankful #22: Hanging Lights

Today I am thankful that the weather has taken a turn for balmy. It is the best way to describe a warm winter day. It is  a bit over 35 degrees (F) and the sun is shining as hard as it can. I semi-cleared off the colored concrete and in less than half an hour it was heated enough to melt what was left behind.

Concrete after I shoveled off the snow.

Concrete after I shoveled off the snow.

About a half hour later after the sun did some thawing and we set up the characters.

About a half hour later after the sun did some thawing and we set up the characters.

James sure could have used Victoria’s help today. He wasn’t so excited with the way Paulina and I tend to take over boss when there are projects like this to do. I finally came inside and let him do the lights on the house the way he wanted to. I, though, had to put my two cents into how Snoopy and Rudolph should be placed. I also tied all of those plastic candles to the pillars. Hopefully we have everything tied down enough so the winds won’t wreak havoc like in the past. Earlier, we strung lights on the evergreens. I was positive we would also put lights on the trees at my mother’s place. Fat chance with that. The largest of our trees took four strands. It would be the second smallest at my mother’s place. The only tree, well two, that we could even consider doing would be the one on the end that I nursed back to health a couple of years ago, and it looks a little like the Charlie Brown tree. The other is the one by the shop that is tucked out of the way. So much for those plans. The biggest issue is we should have a pay loader to reach the top. I have no idea where we could find someone who would help us with that problem. I can share pictures of the “in-progress” part. When it gets near twilight, I will try to remember to take a few pictures to share tomorrow.

Ladder behind the tallest tree. We put a tree topper on this one and the two on the ends.

Ladder behind the tallest tree. We put a tree topper on this one and the two on the ends.

Row towards the west.

Row towards the west.

Trees to the east, still not sure about the tiny one.

Trees to the east, still not sure about the tiny one.

James and Paulina working on a tree.

James and Paulina working on a tree.

Recaptured dog.

Recaptured dog.

In the middle of the tree trimming event. We stopped for a brief dog rodeo. A husky who lives in town decided to evade his owner for about 40 minutes. Because we live on the edge of town, we became an idea place for the husky to roam. Paulina decided to help the owner in tracking the dog a bit. The gentleman is new to this town and I guess didn’t really know what is in this part. The husky soon discovered the dike and the train bridge, and figured it was a great place for an escape. As is turned out that was how he was caught. He was just a bit afraid of crossing the bridge, and his owner was able to get a hand on the collar. Thankfully so as the area is wide open beyond that bridge and does have a coyote or two that would love a good dog fight. As for tomorrow. I should be in two places at one time. My only remaining great-aunt on my mother’s side passed away. Her funeral is on Monday, which I will be able to attend. The family service is on Sunday night and I am doing the call to worship for the community service in Eureka. I should have called someone to cover for me, but I guess that is how it goes. Sometimes we just have to do what we do. I am guessing that we won’t see some of those cousins anytime again, soon. If that just made sense. This is the side that never does a family gathering, and rarely attends each other’s weddings, so I guess until the next generation starts passing away, this is where we are. Sad really!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

