Thankful #20: Organized sewing area

Today I am thankful for having a room I can walk around in and a closet where I can find what I want. I am also thankful for clutter being cleared away enough to start and finish a few projects before Christmas.

I finally bit the proverbial bullet and got to work on the mess in my room. First off the closet was a disaster for so many reasons. I won’t even share pictures of it before or after. One reason was that I haven’t cleared out old clothes since I was teaching in Mobridge which is like four years ago. I also dug out some of the well packed baby items looking for a blanket the weekend of the baptism. As the house was already in chaos, I didn’t put anything away at the time.

I am surprised we even found our way into the bedroom let alone the closet. By last Monday things were spilling on to the couch and the rocking chair not to mention the trunk, and it was time to put the plants in the window, and I couldn’t get near it. I admit that there are still a few things to put away and to use, but at least I can walk, get to the dresser and the closet rack and best of all the shelves on the other wall are useable again.

One of my biggest accomplishments was the t-shirts in my dresser. I don’t have it perfect yet. I still need to sort and toss a few, but at least the majority have a home. What was three drawers full is now one and a half. So I will admit that the tank tops were relocated, but in the summer, I will just swap them with the sweatshirts. Here is a peak.

T-shirts in line by color.

T-shirts in line by color.

Sweatshirts and long sleeved t-shirts.

Sweatshirts and long-sleeved t-shirts.

Next is the sewing station. I realize a master bedroom is really not the best place for your sewing set up, but here is the thing. If I were to put it in another room, we would lose an area for beds, and when everyone is home, that becomes a critical issue. Add to that there are no TV hookups in any of the rooms I would get, and no land line plugs, you get the picture. Plus this room has the most light, the best heat, and there is a bathroom right next to it. I am thinking the best idea is relocate the master bedroom and use this entire space for sewing and crafting. I could finally fit a larger table for patterns and layouts. Ha!!

When Victoria and Nate were moving, they decided not to take the changing table that they received from Melissa. It has cracks in the bottom legs and Victoria was afraid it might fall apart with Ana on the top. She wasn’t sure if Melissa wanted it back, or what should be done. I rescued it with the intent of checking it out. I know Melissa is always lamenting the clutter in her life, so I called to ask if she wanted it. For a brief second, I thought my plans were foiled. Well, for now the changing table has become a craft shelf. I know the wood look is outdated, but so am I.

If you go back to the frontier days, where I might have chosen to live, well maybe not given no running water, anyway, in those days everything was the wood look, and that is where I am in terms of decorating. I want the original wood trim, etc., etc., etc. So here is what the station looks like, matching or not.

Changing table after a clean up and before filling it.

Changing table after a clean up and before filling it.

Filled with material and other items.

Filled with material and other items.

The shoe boxes on top don’t look so great, but I realized that Roger and Sophia would think that I had made them a wonderful new bunk bed if I were to layout all the material. As it is, I am sure they will be caught several times sitting on the boxes because you can look out the window from there.

Library table.

Library table.

I purchased the library table at my great uncle’s auction sale. It cost about $5. and looked a wreck. His sister laughed at why anyone would want the butchering table. She claimed they cut up chickens on it. James took it to a person who redid furniture, and I am pretty sure we upped the value considerable. It has no drawers, but is a wonderful and useful relic. I figure it is the perfect size to lay out the patterns for the 18″ doll clothes which is an up and coming project for me. What did I say about the cats? Here is Roger photo bombing and plotting her next move already.

Thread holder.

Thread holder.

I ended up with an old slide strip cabinet when I was purchasing items at an auction. Good grief it sounds like that is all I do. I want to spray paint this a different color someday, but for now it works. Only real problem is that I barely have the top shelf in us and there are six drawers. It is also quite heavy, so I am happy to have found it a home as I don’t want to lug it around.

Ribbons and other trim items to use on projects.

Ribbons and other trim items to use on projects.

This is the middle drawer of the sewing cabinet. The bottom drawer is full of jars of buttons and such. I rarely throw away an article of clothing without at least taking the buttons and any functioning zippers from them. Now I am starting to see the use for other parts like pockets and button up areas.

Other items used in storage are old pop corn tins.

Other items used in storage are old pop corn tins.

Well, I am guessing that I should get to work rather than just write about doing something. Ha! Story of my life, write the list, but never do the work!!

Sunrise this morning.

Sunrise this morning.

It was a fantastic bright sunrise, and I tried so hard to get it from the window upstairs, but Roger, again, was hanging out and I didn’t trust her not to try to jump out when I removed the screen. By the time I cleaned that thought up and made it down the steps, the sun was slipping up into the clouds, and I don’t think we will see it again today. Currently, we have light snow outside. Oh dear, I better go find Sophia, she must be freezing on the porch. For what are you thankful today?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 16:00:30

    I would never ever think of putting t-shirts in a drawer like that. Will it really stay that way?? It looks really OCD! But really neat!

    Like

    Reply

  2. mountaingmom
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 13:27:55

    My craft area has spread out through our upstairs bedroom and adjacent loft. I have a dormer with a custom made table for sewing and keeping my mailing stuff, a 3 shelf bookcase for baskets of yarn, thread and notions, but then my spinning fiber, wheel and accessories I need for that just kind of slid out into the loft. I started a few days ago, but need a cold rainy, stay at home day to park myself with a cup of tea, a donation box and the commitment to actually organize it all again and give everything a good dusting in the process.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

