Thankful #10: Changing seasons

So today should probably be a post about NOT thankful, but there are reasons to be thankful for the snowfall that just hit us yesterday and overnight.

Outside the back door just before noon on Monday.

Outside the back door just before noon on Monday.

Snow on the rug after taking the picture above.

Snow on the rug after taking the picture above.

This seems to be a wetter snow and so holds moisture that we need for the grass and the garden. I realize that the farmers with corn standing in the field are not so happy, but that is what you call life.

Changing seasons are a good things in terms of nature and growth. Plants need the time to be dormant in order to produce abundantly later. Our bodies too need time to rest between times of major work. I have to get myself into a better rhythm of that. I don’t tend to go at top speed all the time, but that nagging little always doing something tends to take a toll. Last night I vegetated on the couch watching cheesy Hallmark movies, and it sure felt good. When I hit ones that I had already seen, I started flipping channels and found “Rehab Addict” and boy do I love that show. Sure hope that ND Farmers Union can pull that lady in some year for their WILD event. I will be the first to register if that is the case.

Anywho, today I am thankful for a warm home that is full of too much to do, and food in the fridge and pantry, and just time to work on what needs to be done. I am a little not thankful for things that are nagging me and calls that need to be made, but that is all part of life. If I wouldn’t have those things, I wouldn’t have a purpose, so that is good too. Also my cats are a little not thankful for the snow. Sophia tried to go out, but found herself up to her belly while trying to walk to her favorite hunting ground. She was pretty happy when she heard me open the door and call for her to come inside. I bet she is on the couch cleaning herself getting ready for a nap.

One last set of pictures to share. It seems the geese are really on the move. I am betting that these pictures, which I took at the state line last night did not last long. As soon as the snow started up again, I am guessing they were in the air and on their way farther south. Safe traveling there geese. It is sort of too bad that they went through as they did. When they stop and eat up the remains in a combined field, they really are doing a service. Each seed eaten is one less to grown in the next crop. At least that is how I see it, perhaps I am all confused. It just seems to me that more natural consumption of those things could result in less spray needed, but what do I know? Hoping that someone with a better idea puts out a comment. Now for what are you thankful today???

Geese at the state line between North and South Dakota just off US Highway 83

Geese at the state line between North and South Dakota just off US Highway 83

The white in the distance is not snow. It is Snow Geese.

The white in the distance is not snow. It is Snow Geese.

Another view.

Another view.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 15:51:56

    Wow, all those snow geese. When they come, they really come in numbers. As for snow, it looks like your area is getting quite a bit.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 10, 2014 @ 16:54:39

      We are getting a bit of a dump. The geese are coming back to about half of the frontier times. Old stories from those days say the sky would be black with the numbers. I suppose hunting limits will go up if they get too thick. Thanks for stopping by to look at them.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

