Nov. 1: 1st I am thankful

Today is what some religions deem as All Saints Day. I have decided to start a month of thankfulness. I hope it doesn’t drop into the sea of doom as my October month of reblogging did. I am sort of guessing that I can easily find 30 reasons to be thankful and if I can’t then there is something wrong with the way I am looking at life.

So here goes. Just because we did this today, I am going to start with the garden. Today I am thankful that we have been able to put the garden to rest for another year. It was cold, but we survived. We had to dig the carrots and the remainder of the beets to get the final tilling job completed. I shouldn’t say we as James was the one doing all of the digging. We had two rows of carrots, one orange and one multicolored (a trial this year). We also had one and a half row of beets. I took most of the larger beets out earlier and blanched them and put them in the freezer. The short row was pretty good, but the row to the south was so crowded by the weeds that they didn’t amount too much. James also said that he had to throw several away as some animal was nibbling on them. Oh well, that is why I plant extra. So here is the view of the day.

The end of the garden.

The end of the garden.

The orange carrots.

The orange carrots.

 

Strange shaped carrot.

Strange shaped carrot.

The orange carrots after washing them.

The orange carrots after washing them.

The colored carrots.

The colored carrots.

When all was said and done after washing and an hour or so of air drying, I was able to bag up seven gallon bags of carrots to store in the fridge. Last year I had carrots right up to planting season and didn’t have nearly as many as this year. I plan to use these in a more timely fashion. There are many, many small ones, but there are also lots of good-sized ones. should make for some good eating. What are you thankful for today????

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 19:50:01

    I am thankful for nieces!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

