From Fog to Frost

When I finally crawled out of bed this morning, I found the trees full of frost. If I know my old wives’ tales then we will have snow or rain in the next few days or weeks. I realize the pictures would have been better if I had taken them at 6 a.m. or even when James left shortly after 7, but the best I could do was after 9. It is hard to wake any earlier when you are up watching several episodes of Jeopardy at 3 a.m. I am almost up to the August recordings. Since we have been recording several of the new fall series, it is important to clear out some of the old items.

So here are some of the pictures of today.

Sun through the apple tree.

Sun through the apple tree.

It is October 31, 2014, Halloween and when I woke all I could think of was the poem, Snowbound, by John Greenlief Whittier. “The sun that brief December day/Rose cheerless over hills of gray.” The sunshine above is for sure not cheerless, but looking at the trees and the ground and feeling the cold, I still thought of the poem. Here are a few more shots of what the yard looked like. I dug a few carrots yesterday when I heard of the temperatures we were expecting. I just don’t have the energy to do this alone, hopefully we can get to a few more this afternoon when Paulina and James are home.

IMG_1497 IMG_1502The two shots above are both the garden, but from different angles. The top one shows the frost on the fence just a bit better. The grass was so crisp, and even the dead mouse on the new back steps was crystalized. Uck. I sent Sophia outside and told her to remove it, but it won’t go anyplace until I load it up and carry it away. I also noticed several in the grass around the house. I wonder what the Old Wives’  tale is regarding an intense mouse year.

Back door view. The Russian Olive trees still have their leaves and so really held the frost.

Back door view. The Russian Olive trees still have their leaves and so really held the frost.

Looking west at the evergreen trees.

Looking west at the evergreen trees.

Looking east at the little chokecherry trees.

Looking east at the little chokecherry trees.

Ash trees in the front yard.

Ash trees in the front yard.

Even the yard toys are full of frost.

Even the yard toys are full of frost.

So I checked the temperature, and though I do not have a thermometer outside, I found one site that said the low here today was 14 degrees F. I think that is the coldest we had so far this fall. So enough. I want to get this posted and move on with the day. Have a Happy Halloween!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 10:16:19

    Wonderful pictures!! It just makes me cold looking at them, though. It is supposed to be nice this week so we can’t complain. There were many Halloweens with snow and ice. Even though it was really cold and windy, I think the trick or treaters had a good time.

    Like

    Reply

  2. pobept
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 06:41:18

    Timely posting.
    I had my first light frost early this morning.
    Happy holiday season

    Like

    Reply

  3. mountaingmom
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 12:54:31

    Stay warm, we are being threatened with snow flurries tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

