No time to post

I didn’t realize until I opened the blog today that I have not taken time to post in a few days. I would guess it has given some of you a break from my drivel. It has been a really busy week. Paulina and I looked at each other Saturday in middle of the apples, and my comment was at least we didn’t plant pumpkins. I guess we do the every other year thing with pumpkins and apples. It is just that pumpkins are less labor intensive. I plan to spend tomorrow on the apples alone, and not sure how much more time I will give them. I have a few pictures to share that I forgot about, plus just some general pics I took tonight.

Apple pie filling

Apple pie filling

We made these 7 quarts of apple pie filling on Saturday in the early afternoon. Paulina dug out the recipe, and we got to work on it as best we could. I always have such a fit when it says, 6 pounds of apples. I don’t have a dang scale. Maybe I need to get one. I want measurements in pints, quarts or gallons. Anyway I found a conversion that said 3 medium apples are one pound. We cored and  peeled and sliced enough apples to fill 7 quarts. Then we combined 10 cups of water, 4 1/2 cups of sugar, 1 TB of cinnamon, 1 tsp of nutmeg and 3TB of lemon juice. The hard part was the 1 cup of corn starch. I substituted flour, but didn’t do a great job with the lumps. I know how to make that work better. We took turns beating it in with a mixer, but I would do a better job on that in the future, and perhaps tomorrow I will take a shot at it. The few that we had to pull out to make the head space fit better tasted fantastic. Can’t wait to use these. We also made 5 quarts of apple sauce later in the day, and filled the dehydrator over and over.

Below are fall pictures of the world outside tonight. I was in school today, and so no apples were done in mass today. I have lots of plans for tomorrow, just hope that the past week doesn’t catch up to me and drag me down. After the funeral on Wednesday followed by a late board meeting and two days of substituting, a full Saturday of apples and a regular Sunday and then the association meeting in Pierre where I had to give the meditation, which was not the Sunday morning message then sub today, I sort of feel like blah enough already. I just want to look at the pictures below and feel the peace of the fall day.

The grassy hill behind the creek with the reflection of the sunset.

The grassy hill behind the creek with the reflection of the sunset.

Trees behind the dike east of our house.

Trees behind the dike east of our house.

Birds in the trees.

Birds in the trees.

The garden during fall. Quite a different picture than last spring or even this summer.

The garden during fall. Quite a different picture than last spring or even this summer.

The rain last night filled the barrel, oh we needed that moisture.

The rain last night filled the barrel, oh we needed that moisture.

Cosmos are finished. I need to get seeds off these tomorrow.

Cosmos are finished. I need to get seeds off these tomorrow.

Strawberries need to be covered when it gets colder.

Strawberries need to be covered when it gets colder.

The ash trees have given up their leaves. Maybe Jaxon and I will spend some time playing in them next week.

The ash trees have given up their leaves. Maybe Jaxon and I will spend some time playing in them next week.

The sun is setting in the west. I took this at an angle just for the fun of it.

The sun is setting in the west. I took this at an angle just for the fun of it.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

