Long apple day and more

Today was an exceptionally long day because it started yesterday. After church instead of following my own advice and taking a day of rest, I decided to continue Paulina’s start of Saturday and work on some of the apples. On Saturday when James and I were in Pierre for a church gathering, she made an apple pie and baked a chocolate zucchini cake. This is what the pie looked like.

Paulina's apple pie. Oh was it good.

Paulina’s apple pie. Oh was it good.

Our main issue on Sunday was the dehydrated apples. I also added to them on Monday. They are so good that I eat part of a tray each time I check up on them. I am not sure if we will have any to put away at this rate. We also stove top-baked up the rest of what was cored that did not fit into the dehydrator. On Monday when I was peeling apples for the apple sauce, I saved the top and bottom ring that the peeling doesn’t come off to throw into the dehydrator. Oh just so good.

Apples in their skins drying.

Apples in their skins drying.

The only thing I did to those apples was core (thanks James) slice (me) and dip them in lemon juice water and Paulina sprinkled some cinnamon on top. No sugar added so actually a really healthy snack.

Baked apples on the stove top. Also by Paulina.

Baked apples on the stove top. This was the left over from the work below.

On Sunday I also realized that the beets had been pulled on Friday and were in a pail in the garage. So out to the garage, cut off the tops, throw them in the outside wash tub and give them a scrub. Drag them inside, peel, slice, cube (with that oh so wonderful chop-wizard) and blanch. I added a little canning salt to the blanching water, and oh were those beets wonderful. I really must be getting old to like beets. Now just to find the time to make a pot of vegetable soup.

Beets. I ended up with 8 pints for the freezer.

Beets. I ended up with 8 pints for the freezer.

On Monday I did not get a lot of canning accomplished. Part of the problem was how tired I was. On Sunday night when I was winding down to nearly be asleep on the couch, the phone rang. One of the congregation members, who was living in the care center passed away. Interestingly his sister had come from the West Coast to spend some time with him. She arrived on Saturday. He told her now that she was here, he figured it was time for him to die. Amazing how some people who are in tune to the extra senses know these things. Anyway, I went to the care center to sit with her until the funeral people could come to get him. There was a wonderful nurse from the facility who stayed with us. It was 1:30 a.m. when I got back home. I decided at that time to bag the beets. I needed something to help me unwind. Most of Monday was spent on the phone doing my part of the what needs to be done to have a funeral happening on Wednesday morning. I guess so much for me attending Ministerial meeting.

I also cleaned the house next door because I upset the person scheduled to do it. Perhaps I will learn to close my mouth in the future. I was finished with that by 9:30, but the apples were still calling to me and one of the zucchini threaten to spread mold all over the house if I didn’t get to that part of the produce. I chopped up two zucchini after supper.

Two bags of 4 cups and 1 bag of 2 cups.

Two bags of 4 cups and 1 bag of 2 cups.

Most of the afternoon was spent cutting up apples in one form or another. I added another two trays to the dehydrator after I rearranged what was already shrinking, Mostly though my time was spent trying to make apple sauce.

If you don’t mind, I have to say this batch turned out pretty doggone good. It might be a bit tart, but nothing that a little whipped cream can’t fix.

Apple sauce with a topping of whipped cream. So very yummy when hot.

Apple sauce with a topping of whipped cream. So very yummy when hot.

I did not put in too much cinnamon this time. I believe that Jaxon will call it good. My main issue will be hiding it from Grandpa. He will have it gone in two meals along with a few baked potatoes. How you can put good applesauce on baked potatoes in place of butter is really beyond me. Isn’t that what Apple butter is for? Well enough silliness for one day. It is nearly 11:30 p.m. and my eyes are no longer staying open. Have a good one!!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 19:23:47

    Busy, busy, busy. What a hectic schedule!

    I have never put whipped cream on apple sauce before. I’ll definitely have to give that a try.

    Like

    Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 09:42:11

    Paulina’s apple pie was absolutely delicious!! It is almost exactly like my mother’s pie tasted and she was an expert pastry chef!!! I think she needs to open a bakery right here in Herreid!!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

