Back to canning

Well, I made it home last night around 10 p.m. as you probably know from the blog of yesterday. I should have posted something today, but got a bit carried away with doing things around the house. Also Glenda came over for a bit of chat time and some coffee. Yes, we were having coffee without the rest of you. I won’t add the usual words from Great Aunt Emma, rest her soul. We did a garden inspection, and I got back to work when she left. So, what I did today was mainly back to canning. It seems that the tomatoes are waning, though there are still plenty around. I filled the largest steel bowl that I have to the rim, and then went to the car shed and filled it with everything ripe.

Bowl of tomatoes

Bowl of tomatoes

Set up to get started.

Set up to get started.

The picture above is after I had all the tomatoes blanched and they were in containers cooling. I have the bowls to core, the blender and the strainer all set, plus the stock pot to mix up the soup recipe. It turned out pretty well.

Tomato-Basil Soup in the cup.

Tomato-Basil Soup in the cup.

Soup on the left and whole tomatoes on the right.

Soup on the left and whole tomatoes on the right.

When it was all over, I had 8 quarts of Tomato-Basil Soup (I used fresh basil chopped to oblivion and threw it into the regular soup recipe. I am pretty sure that I posted it last year. I fill my stock pot about 3/4 full and add 1/4 cup of canning salt, 1 1/4 cup of sugar ( the sugar is to the taste, so it varies with the tomatoes) 1 stick of butter and the trick is the flour. This time I added 1 cup of flour, but I do it by taking about 3 cups of juice out into a container and adding 1/4 or so cups at a time and mixing it with an electric mixer. This really helps to avoid any lumps.

Sink full of apples, some already run through the peeler and corer.

Sink full of apples, some already run through the peeler and corer.

New stock pot.

New stock pot.

Before I go to bed tonight, I intend to cook up a batch of apple sauce. We want to head to Bismarck to watch a young man in his cross-country race. I was hoping to stay home and work on more canning, but he specifically asked me at the football game (home team won 28-14) if I was going to come and watch him. I just cannot be so cruel and skip again. James is part of my group in track, and he does anything you ask of him and more, so what can I say, they don’t make many like him anymore. Well, I will post this and head downstairs to help the workers already on the line. We have a large container of tomatoes ready to do up in the morning before we leave. It is work now, but will be worth it this winter when all we have to do is open the cupboard and eat up. Happy Canning!! Oh, and I hear we might run into some little Clark children in Bismarck tomorrow. That won’t really be a problem for any of us. Ha!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 16:27:47

    Glad you had a good time at your event, and as usual I am humbled and amazed by your preserving prowess!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

