Off to Hebron

On Monday I headed to Hebron to help with the packing. I was reminded why I sit in the passenger seat when we go places. I don’t mind driving; it is the traffic I hate. In that case I should stay out of western North Dakota.
John Steinbeck wrote a book about his trip around the US with his dog called, Travels with Charley. In the chapter where he drives through North Dakota on Interstate 94, he remarks that the map should fold where you cross the Missouri River. I have always thought that is one of the best statements about our area.

But the area has changed so drastically. I wonder what Steinbeck would write about us now. I love his books for how well they are written and tell you the truth about the times. I hate his books because they make you look at the worst of what is happening to people in their times. There would be many subjects for him here: the land owners who get rich from the oil virtually over night, but lost their way of life; the workers who leave poverty in other areas to make a great income, but find living conditions difficult at best; the service sector workers and all their struggles; those who try to take advantage of all the others in the area. It is an endless supply of topics and subjects.

The pictures I nabbed don’t really capture what I wanted to share, but it was all I could get at the time. All I can say is that as I drove west, I became tenser and tenser, gripping the steering wheel in a strangle hold. Sandwiched between semi-trucks, and feeling the whoosh of air as pickup trucks pass you to the left, several times I shuddered at how I was able to stay focused and in the lane. Nate (son-in-law) yesterday noted that there is virtually a death a day on the roads in the Dickinson to Williston and surrounding areas. A car driven by an 18 year-old woman side-swiped another vehicle yesterday as it was passing, they both went into the ditch. The car being passed rolled and an 85 year old man and 65 year old woman have funerals pending. Progress is not without a cost!

IMG_0670.JPG

IMG_0671.JPG

IMG_0668.JPG

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 19:45:43

    I haven’t commented for awhile, so, just wanted to let you know that I was looking for pictures of Jaxon and his sister, Ana! Don’t tell me you did nothing but pack and took no pictures! Except for the country roads! I feel like Lucy of the Peanuts gang! Bluuch!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

