Pickling Day

I slept in a bit today. James was up and out and about before I even realized that the sun was high in the sky. It was 9 a.m. I had been fighting with Roger about whether or not she should go outside since 2:3o a.m. It was not the best night. I could have let her out, but it was supposed to be really cold, and I knew that if I let her out, it would b e about 20 minutes and I would be letting her back in then another half hour and she would want out. The choice was to stay in bed and listen to her nag me. I am thinking a kennel in the shop for her in the future.

So the big work for the day ended up being pickling a couple of items. I have wanted to do hamburger dills for quite a few years. I have tried and they never quite turn out. This time I found a recipe for guess what? Hamburger dill pickles. Wow! It was in the Ball Blue  Book. It was for pints,  but I used quarts and just doubled the per jar business. It was a tish more water (4 1/2 cups) than vinegar (4 cups) and more salt (6 tablespoons) than I expected. The big difference from other pickles is no garlic, no red-hot pepper. The dill was two per quart pickles and a teaspoon of mustard seed and peppercorns, like four per quart. I weighed out the cucumbers that I used and after slicing I ended up with 3 quarts. It had said about 7 pints, so I was close. I just hope they taste close to the real thing.

Pickled Green Tomatoes and Hamburger Dills

Pickled Green Tomatoes and Hamburger Dills

The other pickling that we did was of some green tomatoes. I have never tried this before, so I have no idea what to expect. Paulina and I chose the nicest of the small to medium-sized green tomatoes that we could find. I also weighed these out. After coring and slicing them I filled the jars to see where we were. I said about 6 pints. We ended up with 4 quarts, not really a match, but here we were. These asked for a clove of garlic per pint, so we put in two. We didn’t have enough fresh dill this late in the season, so it was ok to put in a teaspoon of dill seed. This asked for 3 1/2 cups of water and vinegar each plus 1/4 cup of canning salt. Those last three items were boiled into a brine. The same was true for the recipe above. I wanted to be able to process these two items together so we put the brines in separate kettles and started them at the same time. It was a bit of a trick filling them, but we worked it out together pretty well. They both wanted to be processed for 15 minutes, so it all worked out well.

By the time that set was finished I was pretty spent for the day. Paulina was bound and determined to make potato chips. There was left over brine in each of these recipes. I think we could have done a fourth quart of hamburger dills, but not another of the tomatoes, and besides due to the size of the canner kettle, it is nice to have seven jars of whatever you are doing. Paulina took the left over brine, and filled it with potato slices and let it set for the afternoon then cooked up some chips. They were really quite good. I think that leaving them over night in the brine would really be a good idea. I guess we will always have some potatoes ready when pickling in the future just in case there is brine left.

Dill chips

Dill chips

I left out a few things between the chips and the pickling. We tried to use the apple peeler to peel the potatoes. According to the picture on the box you should be able to do that. I think you have to be smarter than the box when you do potatoes. Paulina chose the potato, and I tried to peel it. When it didn’t work so well, and I had to pull pretty hard to get it off, I hit the peeler with my pointer finger of my left hand and not only sliced it open pretty deeply, I knocked the peeler off the machine by popping the spring. Blood was running and we were fitzing about how to put it back. It was a mess.

I ran upstairs to bandage myself, and Paulina tried to fix the contraption. It seemed like a lost cause. I finally looked at it long enough to figure out how it had to go back together, but the bar that holds the peeler down when you want it out-of-the-way, was in the way of fixing it. Well after quite a bit of turning and grunting, I got the bar out-of-the-way. My mother always said (in the German-Russian dialect–it sounds much better,  but I can’t figure out how to spell it out here) “With intent you can pull the tail out of a donkey.” Well I felt like that is what I was doing today, but I got the bar out-of-the-way, the spring and peeler back in place, the bar back in place and the corer back where it belonged. We have the whole contraption back together and it still works. Ya, Hurrah, but after all that and doing up the dishes, I had enough of the kitchen for one day.

I spent the rest of the time before supper washing and hanging onions on the line and picking a few beets and washing them. Something is eating large holes in our beets right in the ground. I think that gopher is at work in the garden and I am about to lock Roger, Sophia and Tigee in there until the fat little rodent is gone. About time they catch something other than field mice hiding in the hay bales across the old train tracks road bed.

All the onions on the line.

All the onions on the line.

Below are some of the pictures from earlier today. The threat of frost seems to have gone for the weekend. I hope we will have a bit more warm temperatures. The flowers could use a few more days or even weeks before they go. Hope you are having a great mid-September.

The sky outside my bedroom this morning.

The sky outside my bedroom this morning.

The cosmos survived another night.

The cosmos survived another night.

The Echinacea is still going.

The Echinacea is still going.

Dragon fly, where were you earlier this summer when the mosquitoes were so plentiful.

Dragon fly, where were you earlier this summer when the mosquitoes were so plentiful.

Produce in the pails this morning.

Produce in the pails this morning.

All the tomatoes from the pails ended up on a table in the garage.

All the tomatoes from the pails ended up on a table in the garage.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:55:08

    Now I am hungry for canned pickles. We’ve made freezer pickles this year, but not canned.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

