More canning last night

 

Plum jelly and apple sauce

Plum jelly and apple sauce

After I finished blogging last night, Paulina and I decided we had to use up the plums that were left from what I needed for the Plum-Apple Butter. We threw them into a kettle and boiled them down. When they were finished, she ran them through the cone-shaped hand juicer. I boiled the pulp and added the sugar and the pectin and away we went. I have no real recipe on that, it is just be taste and boil and boil until it starts to get the consistency of jelly then add the pectin and fill the jars. We ended up with six pints of plum jelly, which Jaxon will love.

Hand juicer

Hand juicer

In the meantime, I cut some of the basil and put it in the dehydrator. I only did three racks as we were in a time crunch with the jelly and apples cooking on the stove. I am thinking that with the plants now inside, there is no real hurry to get any of the basil, sage, parsley or thyme dried out yet. I can do that when the moving is finished. Oh didn’t I tell you, I might be gone all of next week with the trip to Jamestown for the WILD event at North Dakota Farmers Union and going to Hebron to help Victoria and Nate move. It could be a real hoot to see what is left on the tables when I get back.

Plants inside and buckets that need to be unpacked, I did that later on Saturday.

Plants inside and buckets that need to be unpacked, I did that later on Saturday.

Those trays were full when I laid out the washed basil. Not much left after drying all night.

Those trays were full when I laid out the washed basil. Not much left after drying all night.

We also ran a whole mess of apples through the corer and peeler. I did the cranking and Paulina took the apples, pulled the cores and cut off any parts that the peeler missed, then dropped it into the kettle to boil down for apple sauce. It seems to take so many apples for just a little sauce. After the kettle was as full as we could get it, we let it cook away. I added brown sugar and some white sugar and a bit of lemon juice, again pretty much by taste. Since this isn’t cooked very high, I processed it for 15 minutes after it was in the jars and sealed. I only got four full jars to process, but there was a partial jar that we put in the fridge and ate for supper today. It was so good. I think it was a little thicker than normal store-bought apple sauce, but we liked it just the same. I think that maybe in the future, I could put some apple juice into the kettle when it cooks down, and it wouldn’t be quite so thick. Whatever the case. I don’t think we could ever make too much of the apples. I just wish we had about five trees. I might even drop some of the items out of the garden to accommodate them. Ha! That is all for now, happy canning.

Thankfully the threat of frost has lifted, so we won't need to see this in the near future.

Thankfully the threat of frost has lifted, so we won’t need to see this in the near future.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:51:22

    Ahhh, it’s the canning time of year, isn’t it? We haven’t canned much this year. the garden is just not up to it. Plum apple butter looks so darn good!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

