Jelly making Day 1: Part 2 Pepper Jelly

The second jelly that I made today was really jelly. This came from the Ball Blue Book guide to preserving. I cannot recommend this enough. When I first bought it I thought it was a major splurge, but if I would consider each time that I so much as consult it, I know what a bargain it is. OK, so I am not being paid by the company to say that so maybe I should quit, but that is how I feel. So now I will share the steps of the Green Pepper Jelly recipe and tell you how I messed with it. Of course I will mess with a recipe. As I said in the last post. Don’t do this at home. I will end of with rotten canned goods someday, but until then, I will just keep at it. So, do as I say, not as I do. Ha!!

Result of Green Pepper Jelly from page 36 is below. I ended up with 8 half pints and a little left over for a container in the fridge that will be taste tested tonight.

Green Pepper Jelly modified version.

Green Pepper Jelly modified version.

So my first modification was to use my purple peppers. Technically this is Purple Pepper Jelly, and now say that fast five times. Ha!! The recipe does say to use whatever color you wish. I believe that if I make this again, I will have some finely chopped pieces of pepper to put into the jelly just for decoration and perhaps some texture. It calls for 7 sweet green peppers and 1 jalapeno. I used four purple, one jalapeno and two of the white ones.

Hand chopped for a bit.

Hand chopped for a bit.

Finally dug out the chopper.

Finally dug out the chopper.

Not sure where the brain was when I was hand chopping. I love using the Chop Wizard, and it cuts the perfect size for adding some to the final product. I have to do this again and remember that part. Love all those colors in the measuring cup. Next step is to puree them in two parts in a blender. Check the pictures below.

Puree.

Puree of 1/2 the peppers.

Puree after a night in the refrigerator.

Puree after a night in the refrigerator.

The hardest part of this is the straining. I do not have cheese cloth of the jelly straining thing, so I pulled out my mother’s old strainer that I chose in some of the dividing times, and tried hard not to break it while forcing the liquid through the strainer while keeping the pulp back. The pulp ended up on the compost so nothing lost.

Strainer set up.

Strainer set up.

Boiling the mixture with the sugar and the salt.

Boiling the mixture with the sugar and the salt.

Wow am I glad that I am posting this. I am re-reading the recipe and now I know why it wanted so much sugar. I was looking at the plum recipe on the same page. This calls for 5 cups which I put into it. I thought it was calling for 7 1/2, which I kept thinking was crazy. Thank goodness I want to skimp on sugar. This is actually pretty sweet, but with a pepper kick. I think that I would like it better with two hot peppers and one less cup of sugar. Guess what I will be doing with the next batch. This was supposed to make 6 half pints, but I ended up with 8 and some in a small container for tasting later tonight. Ya!! Oh yes, and I did put in some purple food coloring so that greenish grey looking color was not how it turned out in the end.

I had been giving peppers away, but I am thinking that I may give a few to close family, but not at random as I was. I look forward to adding some to my tomato juice next time I make some. Well, that is enough of the canning blogs for today. Paulina and James should be here soon, so with reinforcements, we will get started on a batch of something. Keep you posted on what recipe I mess with next.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinggrandma
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 07:57:01

    The bounty of the garden! You will enjoy the results of your hard work this winter and next spring while you anticipate the fresh goodness of the next harvest.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

