Cold morning–warm afternoon

Blue skies and dry towels.

Blue skies and dry towels.

This morning was super cold when I woke. I think someone said something like 46 degrees, but I am not real sure. James thought about 48 when he drove by on the bike. We had opened all the windows on the top parts. The cats don’t cooperate with us opening the bottoms. We would hear scratching all night and possibly a thump when the screen lets loose and they fall out. Anyway, after I woke, I put my thermometer in the window, and this is what it registered after about 10 minutes.

IMG_0620

No wonder I was cold. I didn’t really feel all that well during the night and in the morning. It sort of felt like the day that I was dehydrated. My lower back hurt and I couldn’t get warm, and I was just rather miserable. Add to that a total lack of sleep because Roger thought it would be fun to go in and out five times last night. I tried to ignore her, but she kept crawling around my head. She also kept grabbing things and pushing them onto the floor. I am considering putting her into the cat carrier over night in the future.

Heater in the bathroom so I could shower.

Heater in the bathroom so I could shower.

Here they lay when I leave. I wanted Paulina to wake that cat every 15 minutes today, but she went outside and mowed instead.

Here they lay when I leave. I wanted Paulina to wake that cat every 15 minutes today, but she went outside and mowed instead.

My day was spent at the UCC Oahe Women’s Event in Selby. It was a very interesting day. Holly Hoffman of Survivor Nicaragua was the main speaker in the morning session. She is a member of our church in Eureka, and I have known her for, well, since she was running track in high school, and I was a lowly coach in Pollock. For the afternoon, our Interim Conference Minister Rev. Dr. David Felton spoke to us about the time he spent in China this summer. He went with his daughter, who was teaching a three-week course of English to college students. He told us the five things that surprised him about China. Both talks were super interesting, and I could have listened to either of them all day. Before we left we made a bracelet based on Psalm 23. I may have to share that on another day. We also toured a beautiful garden in Selby. I wish that I had thought to bring a camera, but at least I have some ideas for future plantings.

It was also fun to talk to some long time friends, and to make some new ones. One lady asked me if I was the daughter of Patsy Knoepfle (of course I am). She said that was her teacher at the Orth School. She remembers my dad dropping my mother off for the day and him driving home with their oldest child. I told her that would be me. She was surprised to know that I was the oldest. I told her if she saw me with the rest, she would know I was oldest, Ha! All in all it was quite fun, and the chicken salad croissant for lunch was excellent, not to mention all of the goodies for snacks and desert and more snacks.

Sunflower is blooming.

Sunflower is blooming.

When we returned home, Toni and Darlene rode along from my place to Selby and back again, we found Paulina mowing. The grass is starting to get to the length of a small hay-field. I believe James is finishing after supper. There is a sunflower blooming in the hollyhock garden and life here was just moving on. I guess it doesn’t really matter if I am here or gone. I do know that I better get a message typed up for tomorrow and then tomorrow I need to get things ready for the funeral on Monday. It just doesn’t end. I just hope my throat holds out. I am feeling a bad cold coming on. I am thinking no visit to the home on Wednesday. The worst thing I could do there is drag these germs.

Other proof of the dryness and the heat pictured below.

Cosmos open to the sun.

Cosmos open to the sun.

Bee in the pollen

Bee in the pollen

Drooping morning glories.

Drooping morning glories.

Yellow poppies in bloom.

Yellow poppies in bloom.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tilly Frueh
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 20:54:57

    It was in the 50’s here this morning so I pulled out a blanket, put on a jacket, wrapped a scarf around my neck, and took another blanket out to the patio. Bell and I sat and enjoyed the morning, me under one blanket, her under the second one between my legs. I love the cooler weather because it is a sure sign that fall is on its way/here. When it gets so cold that I have to put on a headband and winter coat though, it does make journaling outside in the morning a little less convenient — that doesn’t mean I don’t do it, it’s just more difficult.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda Zimmerman
    Sep 06, 2014 @ 20:50:54

    Wish I could send you some heat! Lord knows there is more than enough of that here! Oh yeah, that’s right! I am in the desert!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

