Alone again and it is a long day

After Paulina left for BSC, I was alone again today. She doesn’t have Tuesday class until 11 a.m. so she opted for another night in her own bed and get up by 8 a.m. to leave. It is only an hour and a half drive, so that is a quick trip by our standards. She was there in plenty of time to unpack and get ready for class. The only problem was that half way there she remembered that her room-mate was going to purchase her computer book from last semester. I ended up driving the forgotten book to Linton where James’ aide, Nicole took it along to Bismarck as she had an appointment there today. Ya for cell phones and texting and ways to find out this information.

On the way home, I realized that some of the trees are turning in one shelter belt. I went back later in the afternoon and got some field pictures for those who live away from this area to see. Normally our wheat is harvested when it is at the peak of its golden color. Not this year. Some of the fields continue to stand and the kernels shrink and turn a dirty brown because it is too wet to get into the field or they don’t want to take the chance of dropping it to a swath and then have it rain and the kernels start sprouting. I guess that is why there is crop insurance. Unless they got it off earlier, the wheat is going to be a bad gamble this year. I also grabbed a few corn shots, so below are what I took.

Tree grove turning colors.

Tree grove turning colors.

Same trees, new view.

Same trees, new view.

Harvested field

Harvested field

Wheat getting too ripe.

Wheat getting too ripe.

Hay field with stacks ready to move home.

Hay field with stacks ready to move home.

Nice stand of corn

Nice stand of corn

And the final picture I have is for my aunt to see what this house a block from my place looks like without any trees. When I was young this house was empty and lonely. Later it was purchase, fixed up and now is owned by a family with children. When I was young the area beside the house was almost like a park because of the large shade trees. They died a couple of years ago, and the family just had someone come in last week to take them out. I originally thought there were four dead trees. I think there are six stumps. Not sure why I couldn’t count originally. Anyway, it is a warm one here today. Should dry things out and keep the ripening process going. Hurrah, this means I need to pick more tomatoes. Did you see my table yesterday? I think I may need to can a few jars tonight.

The trees are gone!

I The trees are gone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda Zimmerman
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 11:46:40

    Love the pictures! Don’t worry, the rain will stop when I get home! It’s supposed to rain here this weekend, though! Monsoons are not finished. Kinda unusual for this time of year. It’s actually supposed to be in the double digits next week. 109 today! Yuck! Guess I will take Cash and sit in the pool. He does love swimming, thank God. Talk to you later. Have a great day.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

