Fresh corn and other garden eats

Years ago, James and I had a tradition of pizza for supper on Friday night. This week was not in that tradition. On Thursday Paulina made a homemade pizza with basil and peppers fresh from the garden. I cooked on Friday. It was corn on the cob which we picked the night before to save from some critter.

IMG_0578.JPG
I also cooked up some beets in butter. Everything tastes better in butter.

IMG_0580.JPG
Paulina grilled some small steaks and I made a salad with linguine noodles, cubes of cucumber, tomatoes with some cut up fresh basil and topped with Olive Garden dressing. I kept that cold until we ate.

IMG_0581.JPG
For dessert it was pears slow cooked in butter and brown sugar. I cored them earlier. I could eat that again perhaps some cinnamon would be good, but hopefully in a year or two the pears will be from our trees.

IMG_0579.JPG
Final pictures are random garden pictures. I need to close this and dress. James and I are headed to Eureka where I am doing a short service for the funeral of a cousin, my how life has changed.

IMG_0573.JPG

IMG_0572.JPG
Above table of plenty and an odd shaped tomato.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:03:39

    Beautiful produce – you don’t get corn on the cob like that here in Scotland. One of the delights of summer in America. I hope the funeral went well. My husband recently went, rather reluctantly, to the funeral of a colleague he didn’t know very well. He came back so very happy to have learned more about the man’s life, and to have paid his respects to the family. Sometimes funerals can be very healing for those left behind.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:11:22

      I am happy that your husband was able to have a good experience. It went well, and many were happy for the words I shared. Perhaps I will share them here at some point. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Glenda Zimmerman
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 12:49:52

    That corn and all of the fresh vegetables just made my mouth water. Hopefully, there will still be some of that left when I get home. Looking forward to it!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

