Friday raining again

During the night, I thought I woke to the sound of rain, but was too tired to get up and check it out. This morning it was raining when I got up and started the coffee. It was later than I would have liked, and once again, I realize the remote for the television needs to be left across the room so that it doesn’t get turned on in the middle of the night. Sleep is much better in the quiet.

At least with the rain there is no demand to be in the garden. I should have dug through the beans yesterday, but it was muddy, and I just didn’t have the energy. I am afraid that my longing for fresh garden beans will be waiting another full year. This year’s crop is too hard to find.

Paulina found some distress in the corn last night when she was picking the tomatoes. Apparently some creature has been in the corn, pulling off the bottom cobs and eating them nearly clean. I tried to call my sister, Adrienne last night to talk to her husband Steve about raccoons. I thought they just ate a bite here or there, but never did get a hold of him. I wonder if it is the giant gopher that lives near the garden that is doing the damage. At any rate, James and I went to the garden and began picking. We have a large bowl full in the sink, and I guess supper will be based on corn on the cob. Yummy.

Anyway, the plan was not to get into the garden so much today. I took some pictures with the iPad, but have downloaded them, so I could blog on the laptop and actually use a keypad. Surprising how much easier it is to use an actual keypad. Below are the pictures of what this morning looked like at our place.

Flowers on the backside (north)of the house.

Flowers on the backside (north)of the house.

Wow this picture really lets me see how I need to get out and pull some weeds. There are also a couple of Russian Olive trees growing in that patch, and I need to get them transplanted or just pulled. They are way too close to the house. I may need some help with information on how to trim up a raspberry bush. I don’t know if you trim in the fall or spring or not at all???? Help!!

Front garden is really taking off.

Front garden is really taking off.

The rain barrel is over flowing again. Nice problem to have.

The rain barrel is over flowing again. Nice problem to have.

Rain always peels the stain off these steps.

Rain always peels the stain off these steps.

Birds were silent on the wires this morning.

Birds were silent on the wires this morning.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. forestmtnhike
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 21:06:29

    Lucinda, it’s been a while since I’ve been on WordPress and I thought to log in for just a short while…I really enjoyed your post.:) Take care out there. x

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

