More in progress items

Going in the pattern of the three point essay, I will hit three things I currently have in progress. The first is trying to do some reading, next is the never-ending garden things, and finally the de-cluttering that I keep hoping to get accomplished. First things first: Reading.

The Tea Shop on Lavender Lane by Sheila Roberts is a good summer read.

The Tea Shop on Lavender Lane by Sheila Roberts is a good summer read.

I am nearly finished with the Tea Shop book, and will be able to start something else on the stack. I have been given some interesting books at my installation and by church members not to mention all the books in the office and at the church. I could be reading a long time, non-stop. Now if I would just find/make the time for it. Maybe that stack of books will give me the motivation to get those rooms cleaned so I have a better place to read besides just before I fall asleep at night.

Next stack of books, but not a good picture of them.

Next stack of books, but not a good picture of them. I think I will stick with those that have purple or lavender on the cover as my summer reading theme.

I took another chance on the Farmers Market thing. It was not as bad as it started out, but I guess being that I was able to unload some of the extras it was a successful trip. I will take some to church tomorrow, and then to Alvina, so we should have the extras gone before we need to pick again.

Items on the counter before Farmers Market. I sold all the peppers except the yellow ones.

Items on the counter before Farmers Market. I sold all the peppers except the yellow ones.

A bit of a scare this morning when I was packing up the van. Sophia came to the house carrying a mouse. I figured it was dead, but not because. She laid it on the driveway, and it started running. I closed the garage door and ran into the house. Later Paulina and I heard a cat upstairs in the northwest bedroom. We were nervous that it had gotten inside because we never saw it dead. Well after Paulina braved the room to investigate, she found Tigee caught in the bedding. Yikes!

After Farmers Market, I took a little time to take some flower pictures. The wind yesterday tried to eliminate some of what is just starting to look good. One lone yellow poppy is blooming. Hopefully we can get those going better next year. The zinnias are looking good in both their areas, but the cosmos took a hit when the wind threw a lawn chair at them. Lucky it didn’t break any pots or lights. The pot in the middle of the pond was found in the pond when Paulina came home. Good grief wind, enough of you.

Yellow poppy.

Yellow poppy.

Zinnias in the hollyhocks.

Zinnias in the hollyhocks.

Geranium and morning glory plants in the pond

Geranium and morning glory plants in the pond

Cosmos with some broken stalks.

Cosmos with some broken stalks.

Light yellow colored petunias. Love this color.

Light yellow colored petunias. Love this color.

Zinnias in the corn.

Zinnias in the corn.

Corn not quite ready. Adie picked some of hers yesterday, jealous!! But not really ready for the kernels stuck in the teeth thing.

Corn not quite ready. Adie picked some of hers yesterday, jealous!! But not really ready for the kernels stuck in the teeth thing.

I see there are weeds in the corn again, but at this point they won’t do any harm, and I have more to do than pull those things. This brings me to the last of the three paragraph essay. The basement. I won’t say much about it. We did get one small can of garbage out of there yesterday, and one box of jeans to be cut for quilts or repurposed or something. Anyway, I will leave you with one last horrible picture of the current clutter. I took the picture to hopefully have a before and after post in the very near future. Now just to rid it of the cat litter smell.

Basement clutter, grrrr! I should make this a thumbnail size so no one can see the mess.

Basement clutter, grrrr! I should make this a thumbnail size so no one can see the mess.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

