Favorite flowers and garden work

One of my favorite flowers is the Echinacea. I have tried to get more to grow, but so far this is the only one that sprouts. At least it is in super bloom mode.

One of my favorite flowers is the Echinacea. I have tried to get more to grow, but so far this is the only one that sprouts. At least it is in super bloom mode.

Today I watered plants in the vegetable garden before even having breakfast. As I was doing that I noticed the cabbage is really being chewed up. I have not seen the culprits, but they have left their mark. Because I had plenty of other work to keep me going for the day, I left the cabbage for later. The solution was administered after supper. It included a pint of all-purpose flour. My neighbor suggested that a few years back when she read the label on the can of stuff we usually put on the plants to kill bugs. She noted that along with the poison was a great amount of flour. She wondered what would happen if we just used flour. Well we tried it on the tomatoes at that time, and as long as there was no rain, it worked pretty well for a few days. So today I decided to try it with the cabbage. If it works, great, if not, I am only out a bit of flour and I haven’t put any poison on my plants. Here are a few pictures.

Cabbage before.

Cabbage before.

Cabbage with flour.

Cabbage with flour.

I also threw a bit on the tomatoes just for fun. The early girls or 4th of July, whichever I planted are starting to produce. The tomatoes are fairly small, but taste so good on salads. I am thinking about five plants of those will be plenty for me next year. I need my Romas back. I am thinking like 20 of the Romas and 20 of the Beefsteak and then 5 of the early ones and 5 of the cherry kind. I think that will be just about right. I need to keep track of that for when I start planting again.

Tomato plant with flour.

Tomato plant with flour.

Peppers are really going crazy, and so many are colored this year. Great seed packet for a change.

Peppers are really going crazy, and so many are colored this year. Great seed packet for a change.

Zinnias outside of the corn to attract pollinators.

Zinnias outside of the corn to attract pollinators.

I have a few other pictures of what is going on around here. We checked the apple tree on the south edge of the yard tonight and found a couple of those spider things in it. We cut those out and tied them up and disposed of them, then James washed off the clipper. It seems I just finally got that stuff out of the plums, and now it wants to attack this apple tree. The tree has a few apples, but still no major crop. I think it is time to plant a couple more.

Apple.

Apple.

Below are a few of the flowers that I really enjoy right now. Just wanted to share a bit of the containers and border garden. I so love sitting out on the patio in the morning and the evening. It is really nice tonight because there is no wind. I wish it could always be like that, but I guess the wind is important for certain pollination, (Corn) to happen, so that is ok, too.

Red petunias with brown spike plant. I love how these colors work.

Red petunias with brown spike plant. I love how these colors work.

Yellow pinkish hollyhocks

Yellow pinkish hollyhocks

 

Bee in the hollyhock flower.

Bee in the hollyhock flower.

 

Kalancho is really getting thick leaves out in the sun.

Kalancho is really getting thick leaves out in the sun.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adrienne Knoepfle Dupper
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 14:19:24

    Did you know you can spray the worms out of the trees and not have to cut them. We did this last year and it helps save cutting the tree.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 18:06:05

    I never new to use flower like that. Thanks for the tip. Hollyhocks here always get rust. The flowers are beautiful, but the plants look terrible.

    Like

    Reply

  3. christinelaennec
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 13:23:50

    Your hollyhocks are entrancing! I’d love to be able to grow them. I tried a few times in Aberdeen but I think it was just too cold in my garden there. Perhaps I’ll try again in our (slightly) warmer climate in Glasgow. I have seen them growing in Scotland. That apricot shade is so beautiful…

    Like

    Reply

  4. Mary J. Guess
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 21:44:49

    Although my climate is dramatically different from yours, insects are not necessarily so. I find that earwigs and snails do the most damage to my cabbage. Therefore, I use Sluggo for organic gardening. Make sure there’s a label on the container that says “for organic gardening.” It makes a huge difference. Also, as our climate heats up, I find that growing tomato plants where they receive shade during the hottest part of the day makes a huge difference in the fruit yield. Better still, I’m finding that aquaponic gardening is really the way to go. It is fairly expensive to start up, but if you spread the start-up costs over the long-term, which is at least 15 years, it’s not as expensive as adding amendments and fertilizers to the soil every year and still experiencing a poor crop. I have only one 32 sq. ft. aquaponic garden, and the fish tank is only half stocked, which means that I could add another 32 sq. ft. aquaponic garden using the water from the same fish tank if the amount of fish were doubled. If I was able to grow all our food in aquaponic gardens, we’d never have to buy fish or vegetables again (except salmon and tuna). I just cannot get over how well everything performs in an aquaponic garden with shade. The fruit production is absolutely amazing! And most of my maintenance time is spent feeding the fish once a day for about five minutes and adding water to the tank every few days, which takes about ten minutes all told.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

