125 Anniversary

The big 125th Anniversary of First Congregational UCC in Jamestown, ND was celebrated on Saturday night with a banquet at the Gladstone Inn, and on Sunday morning with worship service. I did not take my iPad or camera to the banquet to take pictures, sadly. I should have, but wasn’t really thinking of it. I don’t think the iPad would have picked up so well with the dim lighting. I actually left the camera at home because the disc is full and I have not taken the time to clear it onto a CD, how bad is that. I guess when you are out of the house for 8 of 9 days that sort of thing happens. We were home to sleep 4 of the past 9 days, well now 5 of 10, but who is counting. I guess that is why I am a bit behind.

The banquet was nice and Rev. Enno Limvere, who preaches in Ipswich, SD was the main entertainment. His father was a Pastor in Medina, ND which is now connected to the Jamestown Church by sharing a minister. Karl was a member in Jamestown when we went to church there. The children were all raised in that church. James and I were very good friends with them and the youngest was in the youth group when we were the leaders. Oh those were the days. The posting yesterday of those old pictures shows one of the Halloween celebrations as James and I dressed up for it. We had the haunted house and the whole thing. Some churches would have frowned on that sort of behavior, but we decided to host the gathering to keep the children inside and safe and the teenagers out of trouble. We had good kids in that regard. They are always pretty anti-joining on some of the places that offered “outreach” to the youth. I guess they could smell the trouble in some of those places. Anyway, I wasn’t planning to get side tracked. Below are several pictures of the Sunday service and the pot-luck meal afterwards.

View as we came into the church.

View as we came into the church.

You see two of the stained glass windows and one of the many banners this church has. In celebration of the 125th, they decided to take on 125 acts of kindness per member. They posted them and the minister read off a few random ones during the service. It was interesting to hear what had been done. Of course I don’t remember many. Things like buying a meal ticket, braiding a little girl’s hair, delivering senior meals, you get the idea.

Rev. Fred Kirschenmen was the main speaker.

Rev. Fred Kirschenmen was the main speaker.

Fred is now a professor in Iowa. He was a member of the church, moderator and church pastor at one time when we were between full-time pastors. He has or had a farm near Medina, ND, and was/is leader in Organic farming. I seem to remember that he was the National President of that organization at one time. His message was very interesting and several asked for a copy of his text. As I expected, he still had to write it, as he was talking to us much like someone who knows his subject, a professor perhaps, and he was talking to us. He used the scriptures of Genesis about the Tree of Knowledge and the story in the gospels about the Good Samaritan. He talked to us about Affection and how this church started because of the affection of people and how that is what will keep it going. He also talked about how the original text says to take care of the Garden of Eden not the words “till the soil” that we hear so often in English translations. He mentioned issues of taking care of the earth, and being Good Neighbors to each other. I, of course, loved it. I always enjoyed his sermons.

Special music. The picture below says who and what.

Special music. The picture below says who and what.

On the wall as he sang.

On the wall as he sang.

The church is big into putting things on the wall. We were sitting in the pew holding the projector, so we had to be quite still.

The church is big into putting things on the wall. We were sitting in the pew holding the projector, so we had to be quite still.

 

Big announcement. Hmmm wonder who submitted this, Jessica!?

Big announcement. Hmmm wonder who submitted this, Jessica!? The area you see here used to be the spot for the choir. My sister Melissa sang in the choir in our church when she was in college. I never had the courage to join.

 

 

A couple of shots of people leaving.

A of shot of people leaving. Those doors to the far right used to be a major issue. Do we keep them useable or block them off. Currently they are blocked off. I remember opening them. Oh well.

 

Time to head for the basement and the food. Mostly I took pictures of how it looks, more for me that anyone. I was the moderator when the carpeting was redone in the church and the paneling was covered with a thin sheet rock and painted. It was funded by a lady who wanted the church to look brighter. It was a good call, and it still looks good.

A window taken from some other time. They wanted to save it, so this is where it went.

A window taken from some other time. They wanted to save it, so this is where it went.

Cookbooks for sale. I love it and have to take some time to read through it. The Lord's Supper picture in the background was donated by yours truly. It was a prize for some Home Interior Party, and since I already had one, the church was the logical spot to donate it.

Cookbooks for sale. I love it and have to take some time to read through it. The Lord’s Supper picture in the background was donated by yours truly. It was a prize for some Home Interior Party, and since I already had one, the church was the logical spot to donate it.

 

I remember these elephants being donated to the church. I suspect they have some value, but not sure the exact story of them.

I remember these elephants being donated to the church. I suspect they have some value, but not sure the exact story of them.

 

 

The line to eat.

The line to eat.

 

 

Finally to the food.

Finally to the food.

 

 

Tables waiting to be filled.

Tables waiting to be filled.

 

 

Floor in the room where the youth used to hang out. At one time we had a Ping-Pong table there.

Floor in the room where the youth used to hang out. At one time we had a Ping-Pong table there.

Last picture that I am leaving is not of the church or have anything to do with it. On the route from Jessica’s to the church is the site of the former Dakota Clinic. The building was in bad shape and has been razed to leave space for an assisted living area. I just had to take a picture to show progress and nostalgia. All in all the trip was well worth it. I would have preferred not being so tired when we got there, but there will be plenty of time to sleep this winter, or when I am too old to get out of the chair. I wouldn’t trade the last nine days for anything in the world. It was all good, except when no one would give out a play by-play on that baby coming. Oh well, not sure if we did either, Ha!!

Something is missing up ahead.

Something is missing up ahead.

Clinic is gone!

Clinic is gone!

 

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

