Small grain harvest has begun and the garden

Combine in action.

Combine in action.

Moving away.

Moving away.

Emptying the hopper.

Emptying the hopper.

Today our neighbor who owns the land behind Spring Creek which is on the east side of town just behind our house harvested his wheat. At least I think it is wheat. It sure looks like it, and smells like it. Today really reminded me of the farm when I was young. Wheat was king, and harvest was so important. The smell of it. The smell of dried straw shooting out the back of the combine and the grain pouring into the truck box. The trucks have given way to large semi-trucks, but in this case today the combine was pretty much the same. My father farmed with Case equipment, tractors and such. He has a Massey Ferguson Combine and an old blue Ford truck. The combine below is red, but not sure the brand.

Well, my intention when I sat down to blog was to show off the garden in its current state. I have blogged almost everything possible except the garden, so without any further ado, here it is.

The lettuce keeps growing.

The lettuce keeps growing.

I pulled out the plants that were seeding and got rid of most of the weeds. I took a fair harvest out of this patch today, but will have to do more tomorrow and perhaps Friday to take along to Hebron. I will sell what I can at the Farmer’s Market on Friday, but that probably won’t be much.

Bowl of fresh lettuce

Bowl of fresh lettuce

Pile of weeds from the lettuce bed.

Pile of weeds from the lettuce bed.

Corn is forming cobs.

Corn is forming cobs.

Even the volunteer tomato plants have fruit, now if it would just ripen.

Even the volunteer tomato plants have fruit, now if it would just ripen.

I am most excited about the peppers, though not sure how I will be able to eat all of them, and I won’t be taking them to Victoria’s as she isn’t able to eat them. Perhaps I can take some to Jessica and Tony on the 9th and 10th. I have been planting the colored peppers for several years and the past two years all I get are green ones. This year, I hit the jackpot and there are four plants with purple peppers. Also a couple of yellow. I haven’t seen orange or red, but sometimes the red start out green, so we will see about those. Here is what I have so far.

Yellow pepper peaking out of the leaf.

Yellow pepper peeking out of the leaf.

Green turning purple pepper.

Green turning purple pepper.

 

Legitimate purple pepper.

Legitimate purple pepper.

The cucumbers are growing on the back fence. It has been a job keeping after them to go through or up the fence and not come back into the garden. I picked one today that will be part of our salads tomorrow. I always plant the straight 8 variety. We liked it because it was always a judge’s favorite at the county 4-H Achievement days. It also grows nice and straight which also makes it easy to pack jars.

Cucumbers along the fence.

Cucumbers along the fence.

Small cucumber on the vine.

Small cucumber on the vine.

Large cucumber coming through the fence.

Large cucumber coming through the fence.

Zucchini keep coming.

Zucchini keep coming.

Here is a story. I had to use these tools to remove a lovely creature present from the driveway today.

Here is a story. I had to use these tools to remove a lovely creature present from the driveway today.

Cabbages are growing.

Cabbages are growing.

The potatoes, and with that shot, I will leave you for now. I realized that I have one more post to make today. Crazy!

The potatoes, and with that shot, I will leave you for now. I realized that I have one more post to make today. Crazy!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

