Cats in the garden

Hollyhocks are finally getting some height and blooming.

Hollyhocks are finally getting some height and blooming.

Cosmos are growing well, without the planters in front of them, they can finally be seen.

Cosmos are growing well, without the planters in front of them, they can finally be seen.

Two nights ago, it looked like it might storm, so we drug everything in to a sheltered area. This is almost more work than it is worth, and it isn’t worth the time if the storm passes over like it did the other night. But… if the storm would hit and we did not take the breakables in to an area of shelter, well, I hate to think of trying to replace all of it. I know some would say why even do it if you are afraid of something happening? It is like anything that is worth doing or having, take care of what is yours whether it is a silly lawn ornament or a child in your care. Anything worth having is worth taking care of. Come to think of it, this could turn into a mini sermon. God said the same thing about us, and that is why Christ came to earth, but most of you know the rest of that story, so off to the garden issues, and you can write your own ending.

We have lots of little light up toys, so those all have to be taken in and corralled so to speak. I am starting to wonder if I should continue to do it without an accurate notation of where they belong. I nearly broke one tonight trying to put it on the wrong bottom. And speaking of the bottoms. I have lost some of them into the dirt, and now it is hard to stand them up anymore. I found that a number 2 pencil does work well for a post holder, so at least I have that idea. Here is what I am meaning.

The toys in a five gallon bucket.

The toys in a five gallon bucket.

Plants potted for sale at the rummage extravaganza this Saturday.

Plants potted for sale at the rummage extravaganza this Saturday.

So I sort of misrepresented that. The only ones up for sale are the little ones in the box. The others were drug under the breezeway for shelter from the storm. The green pot on the bottom right with the pink geranium is for my sister Melissa, and I keep forgetting to send it her way. I may have to drive to Wishek just to give it to her. Maybe on a drive through to Jamestown the weekend of the 9th and 10th if I can get that Sunday off. I am still waiting to hear about it.

There are a few other pictures of the flowers to share. This morning I caught the morning glories in bloom. You sort of have to be up early to see them.

Morning glories are climbing the posts.

Morning glories are climbing the posts.

Close up. Now where are the humming birds?

Close up. Now where are the humming birds?

I have a few things to share from the vegetable garden, too. I will start with Tigee. She keeps disappearing and at first we would panic, now we know she is in the garden waiting for the gopher to appear. I think that gopher is either stupid or oblivious to what a cat can do. Every now and then we see him sitting outside the garden fence nowhere near the escape hatch. There are like three different holes in or around the garden. Not even the spring or fall tilling has filled them in. I even tried putting the hose down one and turning it on, no luck. I guess one day we will see a cat having a great feast.

Tigee waiting for the gopher. See the hole in the weeds to the bottom right?

Tigee waiting for the gopher. See the hole in the weeds to the right just below the zucchini leaf?

Tigee in the onions watching the gopher hole.

Tigee in the onions watching the gopher hole.

Sophia on the prowl looking for anything that moves.

Sophia on the prowl looking for anything that moves.

Here is what the garden is producing at this time.

Zinnias may bloom after all.

Zinnias (on the middle left) may bloom after all. There are radishes (second crop) growing beside the “corn” stake. Good grief does this picture show the weeds. Time to get to work out there.

I don't know what to do about these carrots. I tried again tonight to get some of the weeds out

I don’t know what to do about these carrots. I tried again tonight to get some of the weeds out

A yellow zucchini is well on the way to being picked.

A yellow zucchini is well on the way to being picked.

I will leave you with two more pictures of Sophia and Tigee. Roger was not posing tonight. In fact, Sophia nearly spoiled her picture completely. She smells it when I pick up the camera. She is the hardest cat to photograph.

Sophia waking up.

Sophia waking up.

Oh one more. I stole this shot from Paulina. We have both been trying to get pictures of the yellow finches in the yard, and she finally got a few. This is just one. They aren’t real close, but sure have personality.

Tigee by the old pond.

Tigee by the old pond.

Yellow finch

Yellow finch

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

